Jails are not shutdown during reboot?!

I am new to FreeBSD and experimenting with jails. I have two jails configured with jail and ezjail. These jails should always getting started if the computer boots. If I reboot my computer the jails are sometimes not started and I get this message during the boot up sequence.
Code:
Starting jails: [jailname already running (/var/run/jail_jailname.id exists)]
I have a suspicion that the shutdown command is not send to the jails. The processes in the jail are just killed by the host and the lock file gets not removed. How can I be sure that the jails are always running if I start the computer? I am running FreeBSD 9.3-RELEASE-p9.

By default, /bin/sh /etc/rc.shutdown is called by /etc/rc.d/jail to shutdown jails gracefully. However, that is only called when shutdown -r now is used instead of reboot. This is a little FreeBSD nuance with the reboot(8) command.
Normally, the shutdown(8) utility is used when the system needs to be
halted or restarted, giving users advance warning of their impending doom
and cleanly terminating specific programs.

Basically reboot just has the init(8) process terminate everything while shutdown(8) calls /etc/rc.shutdown which asks this to shut down gracefully. Generally use shutdown -r now to reboot and shutdown -p now to power off.

Dan Langille pointed out that ezjail does not run /etc/rc.shutdown by default. To do that, this needs to be added to the jail configuration file in /usr/local/etc/ezjail/jailname:
Code:
export jail_dns1_exec_stop="/bin/sh /etc/rc.shutdown"

I have seen many people coming from the Linux world using reboot instead of shutdown -r now. Is there any real advantage of reboot other than in single user mode?

Dan Langille pointed out that ezjail does not run /etc/rc.shutdown by default. To do that, this needs to be added to the jail configuration file in /usr/local/etc/ezjail/jailname:
Code:
export jail_dns1_exec_stop="/bin/sh /etc/rc.shutdown"