SQL database connection

I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place. I have been trying for several days to figure this out but unable to. I keep getting
Code:
Unable to connect to SQL database
but I can't figure out how to fix the problem. I attached the file with the piece of code that tries to connect to the SQL database (line 58). Please help me figure this out. FYI, try to use layman's terms because I'm not that experienced with FreeBSD. Thank you.

Attachments

• db.c
    8.9 KB · Views: 279
The error message on line 58 is triggered once mysql_real_connect() fails to connect to your MySQL database server.

You might want to review the documentation of the MySQL C-API, the description of said function is here:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.6/en/mysql-real-connect.html

Conforming to the function description, you are asking for a MySQL connection to a server listening on the local domain socket for user "starmud" having a blank password for the database "starmud".

Code:
   if (mysql_real_connect(dbh, NULL, "starmud", NULL, "starmud", 0, NULL, 0) == NULL) {
      mysql_close(dbh);
      error("Unable to connect to SQL database.\n");
   }
Said call would fail, if either or all of the following is not given:
  • the server is not running or not listening on the local domain socket -- check the socket location
  • the user "starmud" or database "starmud" does not exist
  • the password for user "starmud" is set, i.e. is not blank

Try on the command line:
mysql --user=starmud --database=starmud

Show us the output of that command.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.6/en/ ... nnect.html I reviewed the documentation at the link above but it did not help me much.

I tried the following on the command line: mysql --user=starmud --database=starmud. The output of that command:
Code:
ERROR 2002 (HY00): Can't connect to local  MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2)