pkg_add -r xorg stuck

Hi folks.

I am a newbie to FreeBSD. Today I have installed FreeBSD-8.2 under VMware Workstation 7.0. I used the disc1 image, not the dvd image. After successful installation, I was ready to install X11. I entered pkg_add -r xorg according to the handbook, but it stuck when fetching the xorg-doc package.

Firstly I thought that it was because of the network condition, however I could get the xorg-doc package on another machine using The Firefox browser. Hours later it still stuck there. :(. So is there a solution that make the pkg_add work quickly? Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Jfhu

Try:
Code:
pkg_add -vr xorg
to see a verbose output of what really happens.

Alternatively, you could do "CTRL+T" to see what is the process doing at the time of "the stuck" or any any other time, for that matter.

da1 said:
Try:
Code:
pkg_add -vr xorg
to see a verbose output of what really happens.

Alternatively, you could do "CTRL+T" to see what is the process doing at the time of "the stuck" or any any other time, for that matter.
Thanks for your reply. Now I tried pkg_add -vr xorg. The output was some messages about the ftp connections saying the command connection and data connection was established. Then a line of "Fetch http://..../xorg.doc.." shown, and stuck there. After using 'CTRL +T', the output says that the process is waiting. No useful information. Is there anything to do with the FTP Protocol?

machinariumer said:
Is there anything to do with the FTP Protocol?
Yes, if you are behind a firewall you probably need to set FTP_PASSIVE_MODE.

SirDice said:
Yes, if you are behind a firewall you probably need to set FTP_PASSIVE_MODE.
Thanks for your reply. Actually, it has already used the PASSIVE MODE, I can see 'Entering passive mode...' when I use the
Code:
pkg_add -rv xorg

OK, I have searched a post which said it was caused by VMware Workstation 7.0. Now I will try another virtual machine Virtual Box. I will give the experience after using it.