pkg_add +CONTENTS: not found in archive?

Then what is that file labeled +CONTENTS that I see when I do tar -tf hptibmsvr-1.0-1.tbz?

When I extracted it in KDE I saw a nice listing of files that sure looked like the right things. Everything appears to be there that ought to be. This is after reading the man pages for pkg_add and pkg_create.

I am pretty new to FreeBSD, but I started using computers in the days of DOS 3.0. I'm not a noob, by anybody's standards, but *NIX is a whole new world for me. I feel like I'm learning DOS all over again, but with a lot more options. Anyway, my point is, I could easily be making some kind of noob mistake, but I've covered all the angles I could think of.

I read elsewhere, that it could have either been a PEAR (what??) installation file, or corrupted. Neither of these seem likely since I dl'd the file from a link for FreeBSD and the file produced a list of files when I ran # tar -tf and the files extracted successfully in the KDE file manager.

The file is the installer for the GUI RAID Management Utility for my Highpoint RocketRAID 4320 (hptibmsvr-1.0-1.zip).

I have not yet added the appropriate line to my /boot/loader.conf.local file yet to load the driver for the card, but that would seem to be unrelated to this problem.

I also tried pkg_add -r hptibmsvr-1.0-1.tbz with the not very surprising result that the file was not found on the server. As it is a proprietary package from Highpoint.

I've been working on this for several hours now in the hopes of using this GUI software in KDE. Why do I get the feeling that isn't going to be as straightforward as I think it ought to be?

I'm logging in as root, in case you were wondering.

Thanks, in advance.

I think I know what the problem is