new to FreeBSD

I just download FreeBSD last night, I have it running in a virtual machine running on my laptop. I most use windows vista, and FreeBSD is very new to me. I was wondering if there is a web site for people who are new to FreeBSD, or site that I could learn how to use it?

What are/were your expectations of FreeBSD? What were you hoping to see when booting it? If your reply contains a word like 'graphical', I'll plug PC-BSD right now to save time.

'How to use the system' is totally dependent on what you want to use it for. Do you want to run it as a server for handling mail, web, ftp (terminal/console) or as a desktop for surfing the web and reading your email (graphical user interface)? If it's the latter, starting with PC-BSD will save you an enormous learning curve. If it's the former, you'll have to learn using the command-line. Any Unix-type command primer plus the FreeBSD Handbook will help you on your way. For an absolute beginner at command-line server administration, it will be quite a daunting journey. Most people don't arrive there from scratch.

Thank You.
Something like that was what I was hoping for, or anything other simple commands to get me started. I do a lot of C++ programming, and thought learning how to freeBSD would be a good choice.

aragon said:
I think a 4th should be added:

vi

oh yeah!

Some man pages to read:

man()
hier()

The c lib is also in man pages:
examples
malloc()
printf()

Take the time to get used to the vi bindings. You can install vim for syntax highlighting for your code. After you install vim you can run the command vimtutor and it will run you through interactively.

Your compilers can be invoked with cc and CC respectively.

cc() is an alias for gcc
CC() is an alias for g++

Take a trip to the library and pick up The UNIX Programming Environment (Kernighan, Pike)

Finally though a long read:
sh()