Solved New port for Plex Home Theater?

Hi,

I am interested in using Plex Home Theater on FreeBSD. Whilst it is not officially supported, it has been reported to work on Linux. The Arch Linux aur is available for reference here: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/plex-home-theater/.

This program is a fork of XBMC, so multimedia/xbmc is a good place to start.

I have spent the better part of today trying to do this myself, but this is my first attempt at a port, and its not an easy one to start on! Not least of all is both XBMC and Plex Home Theater use cmake, but the existing xbmc port does not have USES= cmake.

Thoughts? Anyone else interested in this program running on FreeBSD?

Further attempts at this have still not been successful.

I have had a number of issues with the cmake build target being LINUX, and therefore TARGET_FREEBSD not been defined. I set it manually in the port Makefile to solve this one, and also patched a few TARGET_FREEBSD references to __FreeBSD__.

My port files are stored here: http://woodsb02.no-ip.org/plexhometheater/

My current problem is that if I build with internal ffmpeg cmake create multiple cascading subdirectories. I.e. the following folder exists in the working directory: lib/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src/ffmpeg/ffmpeg/src

If I disable internal ffmpeg, I come up against other errors caused by differences in the ffmpeg build.

Anyone able to provide any assistance or recommendations?

would the linux compat layer help out at all to run the linux version?

its also XBMC based so cant be far off?

@rmr: your post inspired me to continue my porting efforts. There are two main differences to xbmc:
  1. The build process uses cmake rather than GNU autotools, meaning the xbmc configure scripts are not used. I have had to patch the cmake build scripts quite a bit to get it to compile as it did not have FreeBSD build targets. It does now with the patches in this port.