(Minimizing HDD access) Disabling logging, caching most used commands?

Hello, I am very new to FreeBSD as well as to the general *NIX thing.

I like the idea of a silent PC. I am thinking of getting an SSD drive, but those are costly.
A normal HDD could be almost as silent as an SSD, if it was possible to disable all logging, and preload most commands into RAM.

Would this be possible, and would it be easy to do for a noob? I am reading the FreeBSD Handbook and trying to get into the whole thing, but it is going to take a while.

Also, to what extent can you preload programs into memory? I wouldn't mind dedicating some 500MB for preloading software (which could essentially hold all the programs I would ever use), since this kind of idle RAM consumption is what I am already accustomed to when working on Windows.

Even if preloading software is not feasible, and I decide to get an SSD, I would still like to know how to disable logging, since I want to prolong the peak performance of the SSD as long as possible.

Does disabling logging cause any problems? One thing I could imagine being affected is security, since you wouldn't be able to compare incoming network calls to previously occurred calls to spot some kind of an attack. Would this be a problem, or are the recent logs held in RAM?

Thanks.

Disabling logging on a server system is not recommended at all. And disabling it on a desktop system is really not worth it.
I guess you are talking about the latter, right? Well, today, on my desktop, the system has modified 7 log files 866KB big. In the past month, both logs and their backups account for 30 files and are 935KB big. Not so much, eh?

What you can do to decrease access is add a noatime option in /etc/fstab to frequently used partitions or all of them if you want.

• Thanks
Reactions: ju
@ju

Mount /tmp in RAM (check tmpmfs option for /etc/rc.conf file), then symlink /var/tmp to /tmp dir.

Disable unneeded services (sendmail for example).

• Thanks