Solved Installing FreeBSD from recovery mode

Hello!

I just signed up here and I hope I am posting my question to the right place. I am trying to install FreeBSD from recovery mode because my provider doesn't provide FreeBSD in their templates (sadly). I followed the instructions from here: https://www.freebsd.org/doc/en/articles/remote-install/article.html#preparation. While trying to build the mfsBSD image (make BASE=DIST) I get this:
Code:
Makefile:85: *** missing separator.  Stop.

Am I doing something wrong? Any help is much appreciated.

Thank you!

Hi! Thank you for replying.

Can you please tell me how can I install FreeBSD using the mfsBSD image? Do I need to mount the iso image and then type make BASE=path_to_distribution? I am new to this I don't really know how to install it. Please help.

Thank you.

I spent 2 days trying to figure this out and I think I will give up. I have no idea why this doesn't work. I booted mfsBSD but I can't login. I edited the password in loader.conf and then on the mfsBSD it says the default password is mfsroot. None of the passwords seem to work.

I have access to a recovery console which is Linux based (the server I wanted to install FreeBSD on). I copied the .img file here, I did dd onto /dev/sda but I must have done something wrong for not being able to log in. I wish this was easier...

Anyway, thank you for your help.

On stock mfsBSD, the username is root, and the password is mfsroot. Using dd(1) to copy that onto the target disk... well, I'm not sure what you're trying to do. Maybe you have multiple disks, but if that's the main disk, all you'll end up with is the system booting into mfsBSD.

Changing passwords in mfsBSD might be tricky, because it uses a memory file system that is an image file on the mfsBSD disk image. If you can boot mfsBSD into single user mode (no password), I think bsdinstall would work from there.