I would like to learn about FreeBSD and developing for it

Greetings,
I am a College student who participated in the Google Summer of Code last summer. Upon talking to a friend about this summer and other projects he mentioned FreeBSD. He said compared to Linux Desktop's setup it is much more elegant and it is a shame it is not more popular. I was reading about FreeBSD on the help pages and the project seems very interesting. I am downloading the iso right now and have virtual box ready. From what I understand FreeBSD is the base to other exciting projects like PC-BSD which seems very tempting because it says its more beginner friendly.

I would like to learn about FreeBSD and even possibly participate in the GSoC this year and work with BSD. What advice do you have about learning to write applications and components for it? What are high priority topics that need to be learned and worked on? I saw a book that got high ratings on amazon about writing device drivers for it. Is this a good starting point about learning? I have knowledge of Python, C++, Java, and C#.

Thank you

Thank you for the quick reply. I am downloading some of the PDF books right now from the link provided. One book from 2005 called The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD operating system looks very promising. Has a lot changed since then? I was also reading in the pdf some of the FreeBSD design goals. One of which is

Do not add new functionality unless an implementor cannot complete a real application without it

What constitutes a real application?

You should make a clear distinction between "Working on the Operating System" (i.e. contributing to the FreeBSD source code) and "Working on applications for FreeBSD" (i.e. creating third-party software (ports) that runs on it). They are two entirely separate things.

timetopat said:
What advice do you have about learning to write applications and components for it?
[snip]
I have knowledge of Python, C++, Java, and C#.