general help needed..

Hello,

I am new to these forums and this operating system. And in dire need of a friend that knows it. I am a Microsoft network admin (roughly 9 years in the industry), and recently hired by a company to help maintain their network. they have the typical 2008 AD domain, with exchange, and sql, and terminal servers which I am great with. However the previous network admin who I am filling in for (left without notice - not available for questions) also set up a FreeBSD server as our sort of gateway device?. This server seems to be acting as our network proxy server, our email filtering service, our vpn connectivity point/certificate generator, and most likely our network firewall.. which basically means everything depends on it and I know nothing about the thing...

I have been reading through the guides, managed to get access to it, created a new admin user account and added myself to the oddly named root group.. The server is really pretty neat.. considering all that it does it barely uses any resources and has been doing a great job.. however it does not have a gui, at least not that I have noticed.. (startx at prompt reports command not found), and I do not want to start installing xorg since the box has very limited hardware resources and the last thing I want to do is slow it down in anyway..

I have some clues as to whats running on it.. their is a booklet here detailing Packet Filter (PF) configuration, and Nat configurations.. but the pfctl commands do not work for me..

I seem to be just stuck at a servername# prompt.. the only command that has been semi useful has been netstat.. where i recieved the ip address of one of the interfaces on the box.. but there really should be 2.. is there an easier way to view ip configuration status?

or is there a easy way to identify what programs are running/being used by the system..

anyway.. someone please reach out to me here i'm in deep waters with out a raft :(