FreeBSD Localization

Hi all,

This is my first post here as a FreeBSD user. I'm new to FreeBSD and did a fresh install on my machine. I'm Russian and wanted to localize it fully, I properly followed the Handbook and edited /etc/login.conf and ~./login_conf as it advised me to do. After that I installed Xfce DE and opened Xfce terminal to find out that as a regular user I can't type russian characters in it. If I go root and try to type in terminal - everything is ok. Does anyone have any idea on why it is so? I will appreciate any advice.

Thank you in advance.

What locale settings in xorg do you mean? As I stated earlier under root everything works ok, the problems are under regular user.

The thread is still open and the issue still bothers me. However, there is an update: if I use bash for regular user, instead of sh, I can type russian letters in it. Any ideas?

Yes, bash reads the conf rc files but sh doesnt... Nothing new actually, use bash is more sane anyway.

I don't object to using bash, but there is one thing that drives me crazy - I can't find out why I can input russian characters under root in the same terminal in sh, and cannot under regular user.

IMHO it is a smart idea - not to use bash(especially for regular users). It is powerful but very dangerous tools.

What kind of shell did you choose for a regular user that cant type Russian characters?
root by default using csh and locale settings is in /root/.cshrc
If your regular user using default shell for them which is /bin/sh then only thing that you need to correct it is
/home/YourUser/.login_conf
place there
Code:
me:\
:charset=UTF-8:\
:lang=en_US.UTF-8:
then relogin and try again.

BTW, I strongly advise you to use UTF-8 instead of KOI-8 because all modern programs (windows share/samba, ftp servers ,http's html and php and so on) use UTF-8, so to be able to see filenames and its content it would much more convenient to use UTF-8.