csup connection reset

In advance, sorry I am a noob. Had a box many years ago and it ran about a year 24/7 till the box died. I've since forgotten almost everything and I'm starting over now.

I hope this is posted in the correct place. I'm trying to run csup on a fresh install of 8.0-RELEASE.

After trying many, many times it managed to go through once successfully.
I've tried all the mirrors many times. I've looked up what information I could find on the issue and what I've found indicates a break in the communication somewhere. The box is behind a NAT router.
Things I've tried are: forwarding 5999, DMZ, checking local security options. I have not tried enabling DHCP and connecting directly to the cable modem.

This is what I get:

Code:
# csup -L 2 /root/ports-supfile
Parsing supfile "/root/ports-supfile"
Connecting to cvsup1.FreeBSD.org
Connected to 72.233.193.64
Server software version: SNAP_16_1h
Negotiating file attribute support
Exchanging collection information
Establishing multiplexed-mode data connection
Running
Receiver: connection reset by peer
Will retry at 09:53:38
^C

Can anyone give me some pointers as to finding the issue with this? Thanks!

From /root:

Code:
# csup ports-supfile
Connected to 72.233.193.64
Receiver: Connection reset by peer
Will retry at 11:03:22
^C
#

I have tried the other addresses in the cvsup "Primary Mirror Sites" list (i.e. cvsup1. through cvsup18.FreeBSD.org) and I get the same message using any of the following:

from /root
csup ports-supfile
^with my own -supfile

or normally from /usr/ports
# csup -L 2 -h cvsup2.FreeBSD.org /usr/share/examples/cvsup/ports-supfile
^as the handbook shows

# csup -g -L 2 -h cvsup10.FreeBSD.org /root/ports-supfile

All Connected to, then
Code:

Here is what is not commented out:

Code:
*default host=cvsup1.FreeBSD.org
*default base=/var/db
*default prefix=/usr
*default release=cvs tag=.
*default delete use-rel-suffix
*default compress
ports-all

From /root
Code: