bhyve CBSD bhyve emulation problems with logging in

Hi,

I am newbie to both CBSD and bhyve. I have been using iocage-managed jails for 6+ years though.

To test I created a linux instance using cloud-Debian-x86-10.

This is roughly what I did:
- cbsd bconstruct-tui
- configured network address
- configured VNC-settings

I then start the new instance. I am also able to connect via VNC -- however I am not able to login on the login prompt that I am presented with when connecting with VNC. I have tried to re-create multiple times trying to adjust different options but without suceeding.

Any clue how I can continue to troubleshoot this?

Are you trying to login using a password? Each profile has its own cloud user (for a Debian profile this is 'debian' user). By default, cloud images used ~cbsd/.ssh/ `ed25519`-based key, e.g.:
Code:
ifconfig bridge100 create up description customer-1
ifconfig bridge100 inet 10.0.100.1/24
cbsd bcreate jname=vm1 flavor=small1 vm_os_type=linux vm_os_profile=cloud-Debian-x86-12 ci_ip4_addr=10.0.100.2 ci_gw4=10.0.100.1 interface=bridge100 runasap=1

after this operation, the login command should work by default:
Code:
cbsd blogin

if you want to use your own SSH key (or set a password for the root user or create your own users), you must use the appropriate args (these options are also available in the TUI-interface).
Check out `cbsd bcreate --help`, for example:
Code:
cbsd bcreate jname=vm2 vm_ram=4g vm_cpus=2 imgsize=10g vm_os_type=linux vm_os_profile=cloud-Debian-x86-12 ci_ip4_addr=10.0.100.3 ci_gw4=10.0.100.1 interface=bridge100 runasap=1 ci_user_pw_user='rootpw' ci_user_pw_root='userpw' ci_user_pubkey='/path/to/key.pub'

in this case, in addition to SSH key for 'debian' user, you can log in via VNC as 'root' with 'rootpw' password ( or 'debian' user with 'userpw' password)

In TUI:
1706544498161.png