7.3-RELEASE amd64 not calling 'zfs stop' prior to restart?

Good day all, this is my first time posting so please bare with me if it needs some primping or information added.

Per the title, I have setup a FreeBSD 7.3R(amd64)(see specs below) which seems to hang on reboot only when I have turned on ZFS. The hang is right after the Uptime is posted, and you never get the "Rebooting...., killing cpu's, etc)

Upon investigation I did the following tests:

Testing if 'zfs stop' adequately kills ZFS before I reboot
- Ran 'zfs stop' then 'reboot' = FAIL (hangs as outlined above)

Testing if it is the module not being unloaded
- Ran 'zfs stop' then 'kldunload zfs.ko' then 'reboot' = PASS

Verifying via edits to rc.d/zfs and manual usage/reboot
- Edit /etc/rc.d/zfs: add 'kldunload zfs.ko' to 'stop' subroutine
- - Issued 'zfs stop' and 'reboot' = PASS

Testing to see if proven-functional augmentation to rc.d/zfs works during a live reboot:
- Ran 'reboot' = FAIL

So this brings us to 2 questions:
1) Should we have to manually unload the module via the rc.d script?
2) Are we either not giving time for rc.d/zfs to do it's job, or is it simply not getting called @ shutdown/reboot?

Side Note: My method of manually unloading also cleans up the shutdown messages with regards to forced unmounts on ZFS volumes. A nice side effect, considering this isn't part of a larger problem.

Thanks for any help provided!

-d

System Specs
CPU: Quad Xeon L3426
MEM: 16G
CONTROLLER: 3ware 9750-8i (all disks as single arrays, except OS which is a HW Raid1)
ZFS: 10 x 2TB raidz2 currently running defaults (for testing).

zero problems on FreeBSD-8. Simple # shutdown -r now works fine
please show your /boot/loader.conf and /etc/rc.conf

No issues with ZFSv13 on 7.3-RELEASE (amd64) with 12 TB of storage space and over 150 snapshots mounted. All shutdown commands work correctly both from root and non-root users (part of operator group).