1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000

Discussion in 'Peripheral Hardware' started by sk8harddiefast, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Trying about a year now, but my box is impossible to detect my wifi.

    dmesg | grep "urtw"

    Code:
    urtw0: <vendor 0x0bda product 0x8187, class 0/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 2> on usbus3
    urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000
    urtw0: rtl8187l rf rtl8225u hwrev none


    My /boot/loader.conf

    Code:
    if_urtw_load="YES"
    wlan_wep_load="YES"
    wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
    wlan_tkip_load="YES"


    My /etc/rc.conf

    Code:
    wlans_urtw0="wlan0"
    ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"


    My ifconfig -a

    Code:
    urtw0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
    	ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
    	media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g
    	status: associated
    wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
    	media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
    	status: no carrier
    	ssid "" channel 6 (2437 MHz 11g)
    	country US authmode WPA1+WPA2/802.11i privacy ON deftxkey UNDEF
    	txpower 0 bmiss 7 scanvalid 450 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250
    	roam:rssi 7 roam:rate 5 protmode CTS roaming MANUAL bintval 0


    What I missed? Should work!
     
  2. wblock@

    wblock@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    Messages:
    11,712
    Thanks Received:
    2,271
    The unknown type error might not be a problem, just a warning.

    WEP, CCMP, and TKIP should all be in the GENERIC kernel, don't need to be loaded unless you've got a custom kernel without them.

    You don't show /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf. Otherwise, looks like it's working. Does
    % ifconfig wlan0 list scan
    show any access points?
     
  3. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I use custom kernel but I have them as option on it

    MYKERNEL
    Code:
    # Wireless NIC cards
    device		wlan		# 802.11 support
    options 	IEEE80211_DEBUG	# enable debug msgs
    options 	IEEE80211_AMPDU_AGE # age frames in AMPDU reorder q's
    options 	IEEE80211_SUPPORT_MESH	# enable 802.11s draft support
    device		wlan_wep	# 802.11 WEP support
    device		wlan_ccmp	# 802.11 CCMP support
    device		wlan_tkip	# 802.11 TKIP support
    device		wlan_amrr	# AMRR transmit rate control algorithm


    My /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    Code:
    network={
      ssid="Ember's Network"
      scan_ssid=1
      proto=WPA
      pairwise=CCMP TKIP
      key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
      psk="freebsd8"
    }

    just copied it from here and changed the key.

    ifconfig wlan0 list scan
    Code:
    SSID/MESH ID    BSSID              CHAN RATE   S:N     INT CAPS
    awmn-7817       00:02:6f:38:0a:95    2    1M  47:38   100 E   
    OTE             00:15:56:b5:df:ef    6   54M  77:68   100 EPSB

    The same networks see my iphone too. That's means that woorking? Why say no carrier?
    PS: I want to make it as access point for my iphone.
     
  4. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Wpa_supplicant is for wireless clients. If you want to set up an access point using FreeBSD you need to use hostapd(8).
     
    sk8harddiefast thanks for this.
  5. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    A! ok! I will read it right now. I was not knowing this. I am completely noob on networks!
     
  6. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    My /etc/hostapd.conf
    Code:
    interface=urtw0
    driver=urtw
    logger_syslog=3
    logger_syslog_level=3
    logger_stdout=3
    logger_stdout_level=3
    debug=3
    dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ssid=Ember's Network
    macaddr_acl=0
    auth_algs=3
    eapol_key_index_workaround=0
    own_ip_addr=192.168.0.1
    wpa=1
    wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
    wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK WPA-EAP
    wpa_pairwise=TKIP CCMP


    But tells me that cannot understand the second line with the driver.
    Also remove wpa_supplicant.conf or I need it?
     
  7. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
  8. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    OK. I removed wpa_supplicant.conf file.
    According this I changed /etc/hostapd.conf file to

    Code:
    interface=wlan0
    debug=1
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ssid=Ember's Network
    wpa=1
    wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
    wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    wpa_pairwise=CCMP TKIP


    But:

    /etc/rc.d/hostapd forcestart
    Code:
    Starting hostapd.
    Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
    1 errors found in configuration file '/etc/hostapd.conf'
     
  9. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    It's probably tripping on the quote (') in the SSID's name.
     
  10. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    No. I deleted the quote but returned me the same error :(
     
  11. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    I can't see anything wrong with it. It looks exactly the same as in the handbook. If you copy and pasted it there might be some trailing (non-printable ASCII) characters attached?
     
  12. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Yeap. I made copy / paste. I will write it again and I will post the result.
     
  13. DutchDaemon

    DutchDaemon Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Messages:
    10,766
    Thanks Received:
    1,871
    You can always test a script by running it like sh -x /etc/rc.d/whatever and sh -xv /etc/rc.d/whatever remember ..
     
  14. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    You had right!
    Now:
    Code:
    Starting hostapd.
    Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
    bsd_init: interface wlan0  does not existbsd driver initialization failed.
    rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory


    I guess I must add driver line.
    I tried driver=bsd or driver=urtw but didn't work!

    I am thinking to create a simple script to restart network. etc/rc.d/whatever restart everytime can be done easier :)
     
  15. tingo

    tingo Member

    Messages:
    988
    Thanks Received:
    97
    For me, # /etc/rc.d/netif restart works for restarting the network on a FreeBSD machine. YMMV.
     
  16. bschmidt

    bschmidt New Member

    Messages:
    298
    Thanks Received:
    39
    That means you didn't create the virtual interface (wlan0) before starting the hostapd. Try this:
    # ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap
    # hostapd -B /etc/hostapd.conf
     
  17. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap
    Return to me:
    Code:
    ifconfig: create: bad value
     
  18. bschmidt

    bschmidt New Member

    Messages:
    298
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Well, I've just read the urtw code a bit, seems like urtw(4) does NOT support hostapd mode currently. So you're out of luck with that device anyways.. if you really want to give some untested hack a try, have a look at kern/153454.
     
  19. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Active Member

    Messages:
    2,031
    Thanks Received:
    158
    That's a good reason that I never made it. Ok. I will wait an update of the driver that will support hostapd. For now is solved.