1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000

Discussion in 'Peripheral Hardware' started by sk8harddiefast, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trying about a year now, but my box is impossible to detect my wifi.

    dmesg | grep "urtw"

    Code:
    urtw0: <vendor 0x0bda product 0x8187, class 0/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 2> on usbus3
    urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000
    urtw0: rtl8187l rf rtl8225u hwrev none
    My /boot/loader.conf

    Code:
    if_urtw_load="YES"
    wlan_wep_load="YES"
    wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
    wlan_tkip_load="YES"
    My /etc/rc.conf

    Code:
    wlans_urtw0="wlan0"
    ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"
    My ifconfig -a

    Code:
    urtw0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
    	ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
    	media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g
    	status: associated
    wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
    	media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
    	status: no carrier
    	ssid "" channel 6 (2437 MHz 11g)
    	country US authmode WPA1+WPA2/802.11i privacy ON deftxkey UNDEF
    	txpower 0 bmiss 7 scanvalid 450 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250
    	roam:rssi 7 roam:rate 5 protmode CTS roaming MANUAL bintval 0
    What I missed? Should work!
     
  2. wblock@

    wblock@ Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    15
    The unknown type error might not be a problem, just a warning.

    WEP, CCMP, and TKIP should all be in the GENERIC kernel, don't need to be loaded unless you've got a custom kernel without them.

    You don't show /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf. Otherwise, looks like it's working. Does
    % ifconfig wlan0 list scan
    show any access points?
     
  3. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use custom kernel but I have them as option on it

    MYKERNEL
    Code:
    # Wireless NIC cards
    device		wlan		# 802.11 support
    options 	IEEE80211_DEBUG	# enable debug msgs
    options 	IEEE80211_AMPDU_AGE # age frames in AMPDU reorder q's
    options 	IEEE80211_SUPPORT_MESH	# enable 802.11s draft support
    device		wlan_wep	# 802.11 WEP support
    device		wlan_ccmp	# 802.11 CCMP support
    device		wlan_tkip	# 802.11 TKIP support
    device		wlan_amrr	# AMRR transmit rate control algorithm
    My /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    Code:
    network={
      ssid="Ember's Network"
      scan_ssid=1
      proto=WPA
      pairwise=CCMP TKIP
      key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
      psk="freebsd8"
    }
    just copied it from here and changed the key.

    ifconfig wlan0 list scan
    Code:
    SSID/MESH ID    BSSID              CHAN RATE   S:N     INT CAPS
    awmn-7817       00:02:6f:38:0a:95    2    1M  47:38   100 E   
    OTE             00:15:56:b5:df:ef    6   54M  77:68   100 EPSB
    The same networks see my iphone too. That's means that woorking? Why say no carrier?
    PS: I want to make it as access point for my iphone.
     
  4. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,392
    Likes Received:
    7
    Wpa_supplicant is for wireless clients. If you want to set up an access point using FreeBSD you need to use hostapd(8).
     
  5. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    A! ok! I will read it right now. I was not knowing this. I am completely noob on networks!
     
  6. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    My /etc/hostapd.conf
    Code:
    interface=urtw0
    driver=urtw
    logger_syslog=3
    logger_syslog_level=3
    logger_stdout=3
    logger_stdout_level=3
    debug=3
    dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ssid=Ember's Network
    macaddr_acl=0
    auth_algs=3
    eapol_key_index_workaround=0
    own_ip_addr=192.168.0.1
    wpa=1
    wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
    wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK WPA-EAP
    wpa_pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    But tells me that cannot understand the second line with the driver.
    Also remove wpa_supplicant.conf or I need it?
     
  7. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,392
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK. I removed wpa_supplicant.conf file.
    According this I changed /etc/hostapd.conf file to

    Code:
    interface=wlan0
    debug=1
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ssid=Ember's Network
    wpa=1
    wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
    wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    wpa_pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    But:

    /etc/rc.d/hostapd forcestart
    Code:
    Starting hostapd.
    Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
    1 errors found in configuration file '/etc/hostapd.conf'
     
  9. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,392
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's probably tripping on the quote (') in the SSID's name.
     
  10. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    No. I deleted the quote but returned me the same error :(
     
  11. SirDice

    SirDice Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,392
    Likes Received:
    7
    I can't see anything wrong with it. It looks exactly the same as in the handbook. If you copy and pasted it there might be some trailing (non-printable ASCII) characters attached?
     
  12. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeap. I made copy / paste. I will write it again and I will post the result.
     
  13. DutchDaemon

    DutchDaemon Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Messages:
    10,661
    Likes Received:
    23
    You can always test a script by running it like sh -x /etc/rc.d/whatever and sh -xv /etc/rc.d/whatever remember ..
     
  14. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    You had right!
    Now:
    Code:
    Starting hostapd.
    Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
    bsd_init: interface wlan0  does not existbsd driver initialization failed.
    rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory
    I guess I must add driver line.
    I tried driver=bsd or driver=urtw but didn't work!

    I am thinking to create a simple script to restart network. etc/rc.d/whatever restart everytime can be done easier :)
     
  15. tingo

    tingo Member

    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me, # /etc/rc.d/netif restart works for restarting the network on a FreeBSD machine. YMMV.
     
  16. bschmidt

    bschmidt New Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    That means you didn't create the virtual interface (wlan0) before starting the hostapd. Try this:
    # ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap
    # hostapd -B /etc/hostapd.conf
     
  17. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap
    Return to me:
    Code:
    ifconfig: create: bad value
     
  18. bschmidt

    bschmidt New Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I've just read the urtw code a bit, seems like urtw(4) does NOT support hostapd mode currently. So you're out of luck with that device anyways.. if you really want to give some untested hack a try, have a look at kern/153454.
     
  19. sk8harddiefast

    sk8harddiefast Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's a good reason that I never made it. Ok. I will wait an update of the driver that will support hostapd. For now is solved.