Should I use bastion in my host/domain name?

I am new to freebsd. I am using it on my laptop for personal use (not a server, just personal). I made my first installation a few days ago but it has many problems as I am not much experienced with installation.

I am not sure what should I keep as my host/domain name. I went through:
and similar posts but I am still confused.

Are following okay?
"lenovo.bastion.com" > "username@lenovo.bastion.com"
"lenovo.bastion.local" > "username@lenovo.bastion.local"
"freebsd.lenovo.com" > "username@freebsd.lenovo.com"
"freebsd.lenovo.local" > "username@freebsd.lenovo.com"

I suspect you don't have an actual registered internet domain name? Then steer clear of any registered TLDs and domain names. My home network is named dicelan.home, I have hostnames like molly.dicelan.home and wintermute.dicelan.home. I picked .home as TLD because it doesn't exist. This makes it really easy to separate traffic on my home network and what needs to go to the internet.

Just for a single laptop, no fancy home network, I would just pick <somename>.local. That should work fine. I suck at coming up with hostnames for my home servers, so I pick characters and places from a certain book I like.

What SirDice said.

Under no circumstances use lenovo.com or bastion.com, as those are existing domains, and you will cause DNS confusion: What if the real lenovo.com domain has a host named freebsd (I don't know whether it does), and suddenly DNS returns crazy answers for looking up your machine, depending on which DNS server you found first?

I'm going to point out one problem though with using "somename.local": You machine's host name may become the default for example for e-mail addresses or other identifying information. If you are careless about setting up a MUA on your machine, you might end up sending e-mails claiming that your address is for example linuxlover@freebsd.lenovo.com, and that means you will never get an e-mail reply.

Last edited: