please advise about nas installation

Hi,

I have been using linux for the last 5 years trying to set up my nas machine (HP Proliant microserver) with FreeBSD, mostly for two reasons:
zfs and the wonderful packaging system.

Thing is, I don't really know where to start. :)

At the moment, my nas machine is a Via Artigo A2000 with Fedora (RAID1) running rtorrent, cups, samba, nfs, squeezebox server. So it's basically a nas + minor services for my home network.

The new hardware is an HP Proliant microserver (up to 4 stata II, up to 8GB ram, and Athlon Neo 1.6 GHz, few USB) with:

2 1 TB hard disk from my previous nas (I can buy another one if I go for raidz)
1 250 GB hard disk shipped with the microserver
4 GB RAM

I have managed to install 8.2 on it, just to play with, and I am quite happy (apart from the bloody /etc/init.d which I keep typing :) ) so I would like to move on, but I am not sure which one is the more flexible according to the hardware and my experience.

Should I go for a Raidz or zfs mirroring? I know it does depend on me too, but one question is:

1) Would you suggest to keep the root partition on the raidz (if possible) or not? If yes, would that be difficult ?
2) What about striping together the 2 mirrors of 2 disks? (still, I could do this only if I can keep root on the same devices, otherwise I would need 5 HDD, 4 for RAID1 and 1 for system, this is not possible for me.)

Thanks in advance.

Scenario 1:
OS (ZFSonRooT) on the 250GB one and a mirror of those 1 TB ones.
Advantages: full ZFS (very easy to handle the capacity); protection from hdd failure with the mirror
Disadvantages: the OS is NOT protected from hdd failure; loosing 1TB worth of space (due to the mirror)

1) Would you suggest to keep the root partition on the raidz (if possible) or not? If yes, would that be difficult ?
Difficult ? No.
Intriguing and interesting ? YES !
This is scenario 2, btw.
Disadvantages: no hdd hardware failure protection.