Non-booting 9.0 installed on FireWire800 attached to Mac Mini 2011

Hi,

I am new to FreeBSD. I successfully installed ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/re...amd64-dvd1.iso on external HD attached to a Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.5GHz with AMD Radeon HD 6630M via a Mc Ally FireWire800/USB2.0 enclosure PHR-S250UAB.

Installation using USB 2.0 worked fine and I was able to reboot to a working FreeBSD. (With help on the Xorg mailing list, I now have Gnome working too. Great!) While this works, use of FireWire800 would be preferred speed-wise.

Installation using FireWire800 required me to choose option 3 on the menu with the mascot showing up following boot from CD, enter "load sbp" and then "boot" to be able to see the FireWire800-attached HD during the installation process. Upon rebooting the Mac following installation on this HD and using rEFIt, I chose the Windows looking icon to boot FreeBSD just as I did with the USB connection. I ended up with FreeBSD apparently not booting. Instead a black screen showing "No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key" appeared with no further success.

I have been unable to find online confirmation that one can boot FreeBSD 9.0 (or any other release) when installed on a FireWire800 enclosure attached to a Mini. Should this be supported and if so, what could I do to make this work?

Thank you,
MaxiMini

Well it turns out the message I see on the black screen is a Mac OSX message. I found an explanation at the following link: http://www.crystalorb.net/mikem/linux_mbp_external.html (thank you Mike :) ). Though this is for Linux it should be adaptable to FreeBSD without too much pain. I just need to figure it out, which I must confess scares me a little as I'd rather not screw up my Mac OSX install. I would really appreciate any help someone familiar with both the FreeBSD boot process and OSX could provide, otherwise I will report when I make progress.