how can i edit freebsd boot loader?

Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

how can i edit freebsd boot loader?

Postby Xeo84 » 03 Jan 2010, 10:29

Hello, i'm trying to set up multiboot system and i can't find how to edit the freebsd bootloader!

I installed freebsd on a xp machine and dual boot works great, now i installed archlinux on a third partition with grub in the same partition.
But freebsd bootloader is unable to boot archlinux so i think there is something wrong in the configuration file, how can i manage it?
Is this possible?
or is better to install grub on hd0 and use it as default bootloader?

thank you!
Xeo84
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 22:23

Postby Beastie » 03 Jan 2010, 12:36

The default boot manager has no configuration file. It just works, on-the-fly. But it only boots from primary BIOS partitions.

If Archlinux is installed on an extended partition, you should create a primary partition and install it there, and the FreeBSD default boot manager should find it. Or use GRUB instead.
May the source be with you!
Beastie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1859
Joined: 28 Mar 2009, 11:27
Location: /dev/earth0

Postby aragon » 03 Jan 2010, 13:15

Yup, boot0 scans the partition table for primary partitions each time you boot up. You configure it by simply configuring your partition table correctly, and ensuring each OS has boot code at the start of its partition.
aragon
Giant Locked
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 17:04
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Postby Speedy » 03 Jan 2010, 13:16

Try GAG. It can chainload booteasy (and ntloader, and GRUB, and Lilo, etc).

http://gag.sourceforge.net/
Speedy
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 19:12
Location: Acadiana

Postby paean » 03 Jan 2010, 16:02

+1 gag
Clear messages, focused subject matter and purposeful objectives lead to posts useful for all.
User avatar
paean
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 28 Dec 2008, 00:04
Location: .on.ca

Postby zeiz » 04 Jan 2010, 02:46

I used GAG for years but now I use Grub2 (GAG currently cannot boot grub2).
And what? I like it! Just install Arch on whatever partition and choose it's grub on MBR (default). Then edit its menu.lst (or config files if you got grub2) for FreeBSD (search this forum). Grub will detect Windows automatically.
IMHO FreeBSD boot manager is not designed for multiboot.
User avatar
zeiz
Member
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 18:36
Location: Canada

Postby aragon » 04 Jan 2010, 04:00

zeiz wrote:IMHO FreeBSD boot manager is not designed for multiboot.

Of course it is. IMHO you just don't know how to use it.
aragon
Giant Locked
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 17:04
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Postby Xeo84 » 04 Jan 2010, 10:35

ok thanks all! i used a primary partition instead a extended partition and now it works!
thanks again :)
Xeo84
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 22:23


Return to Installing & Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest