How to start kde4 on FreeBSD 8.0 in VirtualBox

The K Desktop Environment

How to start kde4 on FreeBSD 8.0 in VirtualBox

Postby romulo » 16 Dec 2009, 13:01

Hi there.
I've installed the latest version of FreeBSD on my laptop in VirtualBox, I know that kde4 is installed, but there is no 'startx' command. The new system is different of the series 7.x.
Is there some guide 'How to configure KDE4 on FreeBSD 8.0'?
romulo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Dec 2008, 20:01
Location: Santarem City, State of Para, inside Amazonia - Brazil

Postby alie » 16 Dec 2009, 14:06

Have you installed X on ur box ?

Please install it and then check this link and go to KDE4 part
http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en/books/handbook/x11-wm.html
[color="DarkRed"]www.alielee.com[/color]
FreeBSD FreeBSD 9.1-PRERELEASE #0 r243320 /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/EZYCLIE amd64
User avatar
alie
Member
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 08:13
Location: Somewhere in the world

Postby zeiz » 16 Dec 2009, 16:46

Instead of using [CMD=" "]startx[/CMD] I would use kdm.
From alie's link:
Edit system file [FILE]/etc/ttys[/FILE]
[CMD=" "]# ee /etc/ttys[/CMD]
find a line starting with ttyv8 and edit it to:
Code: Select all
ttyv8 "/usr/local/kde4/bin/kdm -nodaemon" xterm on secure

If you didn't already do so enable hald and dbus in your [FILE]/etc/rc.conf[/FILE]:
[CMD=" "]# ee /etc/rc.conf[/CMD]
add:
Code: Select all
dbus_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"

reboot.
User avatar
zeiz
Member
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 18:36
Location: Canada

Postby phoenix » 16 Dec 2009, 23:13

You don't use ttys to start kdm from KDE4. There's a kdm rc script available on the FreeBSD wiki. And I've written a simple one that's available in the forums, as well.
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
User avatar
phoenix
MFC'd
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 05:43
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada

Postby zeiz » 17 Dec 2009, 01:03

Interesting! Is any advantage to use the script instead of standard mean with ttys?
User avatar
zeiz
Member
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 18:36
Location: Canada

Postby phoenix » 17 Dec 2009, 18:50

Yes, the ttys support for kdm is going away. And everything is moving to the RC script method. GDM went first. KDM4 is following. XDM will probably follow afterward.

IOW, /etc/ttys will be for non-X stuff.

Using the script also gives you control for start/stop/restart, which isn't nearly as simple to do with the ttys method.
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
User avatar
phoenix
MFC'd
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 05:43
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests