Configuring grub with Pcbsd

Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Configuring grub with Pcbsd

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 07:36

Vostro 1310(laptop)
So, I installed pcbsd, installed nicely, I didn't install the bootmanager because then it would take over grub, which has Ubuntu and Windows.

So then I do update-grub, it doesn't see pcbsd... ok then.
(Also note I am on the awful grub2, grub1 I could have solved this myself)

Then I go to /boot/grub(this is on ubuntu) and look for menu.lst, wait there is no menu.lst anymore, it's grub.cnf which is non editable. Ok then I get confused, and just go to grub commandline on bootup:

I know pcbsd is on /dev/sda3 or how grub will see it (hd0,3)

SO I do:
root (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/loader
unknown command 'kernel'

Uh, why doesn't it know what the command kernel is? Well grub2 changed this into a command called linux. I have no idea why the heck they are making my life worse.

So I do linux /boot/loader
error: Invalid magic number
Image

Anyone have any ideas? I'm lost.

Things I have learned: *beep**beep**beep**beep* grub2.
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby SirDice » 25 Nov 2009, 07:43

Try:
Code: Select all
os-prober
update-grub
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16161
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 08:34

No luck D:
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 08:37

I saw this thread http://forums.pcbsd.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=14668
And the last post intrigued me,
50_pcbsd in the directory /etc/grub.d/ and ran update-grub. The contents of the file are:

cat << EOF
menuentry "PC-BSD 7.1" {
set root=(hd1,1)
chainloader +1
boot
}
EOF


However this doesn't look like an executable file, and I tried it, nothing... Is there something more to this? (I changed the hd0 obviously)
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby graudeejs » 25 Nov 2009, 08:50

Did I saw grub2?
Stick to the good old grub
User avatar
graudeejs
Style(9) Addict
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 23:23
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 08:56

Too late now, or can I go back? Though there is one thing stopping me from going back, when I lose grub(over written), I don't know how to get it back in grub1. Is it the same as this process https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling%20GRUB%202
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby gnemmi » 25 Nov 2009, 09:24

have you tried:

Code: Select all
title PC-BSD
root (hd0,3,a)
kernel /boot/loader


or maybe:

Code: Select all
title PC-BSD
root (hd0,2,a)
kernel /boot/loader


?
User avatar
gnemmi
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: 20 Nov 2008, 21:29
Location: Cap. Fed., Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 09:32

Where would that go? There is no menu.lst
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby gnemmi » 25 Nov 2009, 09:37

In grub.cfg .. which seems to replace menu.lst

Have this around .. it´ll come really handy:

http://grub.enbug.org/CommandList
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275

Hope that helps :)
User avatar
gnemmi
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: 20 Nov 2008, 21:29
Location: Cap. Fed., Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby dennylin93 » 25 Nov 2009, 09:45

This is my GRUB config:
Code: Select all
default 0
timeout 5

title Windows XP SP2
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
chainloader +1

title FreeBSD 7.2-RELEASE-p4
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


Windows is on hd1 and FreeBSD is on hd0.
dennylin93
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 13:13

Postby jalla » 25 Nov 2009, 10:14

I know pcbsd is on /dev/sda3 or how grub will see it (hd0,3)


No, /dev/sda3 is (hd0,2) in grub. Don't now grub2, but in grub this should get you going

Code: Select all
root (hd0,2)
chainloader +1
boot
User avatar
jalla
Member
 
Posts: 369
Joined: 06 Aug 2009, 12:41
Location: Bergen, Norway

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 10:58

gnemmi wrote:In grub.cfg .. which seems to replace menu.lst

Have this around .. it´ll come really handy:

http://grub.enbug.org/CommandList
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275

Hope that helps :)

But, if you do update-grub everything will be lost... (Or if the Linux Kernel changes)
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 10:59

jalla wrote:No, /dev/sda3 is (hd0,2) in grub. Don't now grub2, but in grub this should get you going

Code: Select all
root (hd0,2)
chainloader +1
boot

I don't think that's right, well in grub2 anyway, when I go to command line just to type
root (hd0,2) it says no such partition.
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 11:01

dennylin93 wrote:This is my GRUB config:
Code: Select all
default 0
timeout 5

title Windows XP SP2
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
chainloader +1

title FreeBSD 7.2-RELEASE-p4
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


Windows is on hd1 and FreeBSD is on hd0.

When you say grub config, I'm going to assume you are talking about grub.cfg (because there are like a lot of grub configs now D:, and not menu.lst)
But isn't the whole reason of grub2 not to edit the grub.cfg? I don't know, but I'll try that.
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 11:17

Ok so I just edited the grub.cnf

and I did something and t works I will post back what I wrote, because once I do grub-update it will dissapear D:
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 11:45

Ehhh... the installer detected the 8400mgs but I noticed the windows were lagging a bit, so I thought nvidia drivers were not isntalled so I got to ports and try to install nvidia-drivers, but it says it's only for i386, not amd64... You're kidding right, there are no 64bit video drivers?
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby gnemmi » 25 Nov 2009, 12:01

nope ...
there are a lot of threads and info on google about that ...
the only official nvidia drivers for FreeBSD are the i386 ...
the only thing close to the amd64 official nvidia drivers have been rumors ... nothing else
User avatar
gnemmi
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: 20 Nov 2008, 21:29
Location: Cap. Fed., Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby jigglywiggly » 25 Nov 2009, 12:03

gnemmi wrote:nope ...
there are a lot of threads and info on google about that ...
the only official nvidia drivers for FreeBSD are the i386 ...
the only thing close to the amd64 official nvidia drivers have been rumors ... nothing else


Bah, time to install 32 bit :(
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby tangram » 25 Nov 2009, 17:22

gnemmi wrote:nope ...
there are a lot of threads and info on google about that ...
the only official nvidia drivers for FreeBSD are the i386 ...
the only thing close to the amd64 official nvidia drivers have been rumors ... nothing else


More than rumours according to NVIDIA 64-bit FreeBSD Beta Driver By Year's End.
User avatar
tangram
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 10:22
Location: Portugal

Postby jigglywiggly » 26 Nov 2009, 07:04

Oh and for anyone who wonders this is what my grub2 loader looks like, works fine:

Code: Select all
insmod ufs2
root (hd0,3)
chainloader +1
jigglywiggly
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Oct 2009, 20:27

Postby stuckinoregon » 28 Nov 2009, 15:44

Try this URL. http://old.nabble.com/Dual-Booting-Ubuntu-Linux---FreeBSD-using-the-new-Grub2-td26154525.html

It explains the process. Hopefully you haven't already pooched you grub.d
stuckinoregon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Feb 2009, 05:58
Location: Oregon


Return to Installing & Upgrading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests