VMWare vs VirtualBox

Have some non-FreeBSD related questions, or want just to chit-chat about anything that is not related to FreeBSD? This is the forum for you.

VMWare vs VirtualBox

Postby alie » 24 Aug 2009, 17:38

Hi Guys,

I am not to familiar with VMs. Which VM is faster on Linux, vmware or VirtualBox ?

and if i use VirtualBox under FreeBSD, will it as fast as i run VMWare under Linux ?

Please share your experience with these 2 VMs, thanks!
[color="DarkRed"]www.alielee.com[/color]
FreeBSD FreeBSD 9.1-PRERELEASE #0 r243320 /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/EZYCLIE amd64
User avatar
alie
Member
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 08:13
Location: Somewhere in the world

Postby vivek » 24 Aug 2009, 18:07

VMWare - works like a charm under Linux and FreeBSD only works in guest mode. You cannnot install VMWare workstation or server under FreeBSD.

VirtualBox - work in progress for FreeBSD, so you have to wait for some time. http://wiki.freebsd.org/VirtualBox
Neither in this world nor elsewhere is there any happiness in store for him who always doubts. If you enjoyed my answer please consider donating some money to FreeBSD foundation @ http://www.freebsdfoundation.org/
User avatar
vivek
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 08:19
Location: Hyper Space

Postby adamk » 24 Aug 2009, 19:39

vivek wrote:VirtualBox - work in progress for FreeBSD, so you have to wait for some time. http://wiki.freebsd.org/VirtualBox



Or you can just try it for yourself since it's in ports and works (for me, anyway) rather well.

Adam
adamk
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: 21 Nov 2008, 11:00

Postby sim » 24 Aug 2009, 21:38

adamk wrote:Or you can just try it for yourself since it's in ports and works (for me, anyway) rather well.

Adam


Agreed. VirtualBox on FreeBSD (from ports) works fine for me, running Windows 7-RC as guest. Haven't pushed it hard but it's nice to know it's there, just in case.

sim
There's no place like ~
User avatar
sim
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 16:01
Location: The Spacetime Continuum

Postby gr1ml0ck » 24 Aug 2009, 21:42

I use Vbox with XP for business needs and find a slight performance boost with FreeBSD rather than Linux as the host OS.

However.. network bridge functionality works under linux but has not yet been implemented on the BSD version.

I am yet to use VmWare so have no input on its performance.. might give it a go tho.
"Do or Do Not.... there is no try."
User avatar
gr1ml0ck
Junior Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 30 Jun 2009, 04:07

Postby CodeBlock » 24 Aug 2009, 22:02

I use vbox....when it works: http://forums.freebsd.org/showpost.php?p=37845&postcount=5

The only other one I tried was QEMU and it was extremely slow.
Proud FreeBSD 8-RELEASE user.

CodeBlock on irc.freenode.net and irc.eighthbit.net.
User avatar
CodeBlock
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 18:22
Location: United States

Postby graudeejs » 25 Aug 2009, 05:04

CodeBlock wrote:I use vbox....when it works: http://forums.freebsd.org/showpost.php?p=37845&postcount=5

The only other one I tried was QEMU and it was extremely slow.


No it wasn't, try bochs
User avatar
graudeejs
Style(9) Addict
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 23:23
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby hydra » 25 Aug 2009, 06:17

VirtualBox works great, you should try it.
hydra
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 08:50
Location: Slovakia

Postby xiaoj » 25 Aug 2009, 14:03

I am using VBox on my FreeBSD box, it's great i enjoy it. But the key feature what i need network bridge functionality was not implemented on FreeBSD, this make me disppoint.

how about bochs? does bochs support the network bridge feature ?
xiaoj
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 00:55
Location: Beijing

Postby adamk » 25 Aug 2009, 14:11

I can't say if bochs does, but qemu certainly supports bridged network, and is probably faster than bochs.
adamk
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: 21 Nov 2008, 11:00

Postby alie » 03 Sep 2009, 17:16

Thanks guys,

But i was wondering about the VMWare ports performance under linux emulation on FreeBSD. Is it slow ?

I just tried VBox under FreeBSD, it seems more stable on FreeBSD than on my LinuxMint
[color="DarkRed"]www.alielee.com[/color]
FreeBSD FreeBSD 9.1-PRERELEASE #0 r243320 /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/EZYCLIE amd64
User avatar
alie
Member
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 08:13
Location: Somewhere in the world

Postby DrJ » 03 Sep 2009, 18:51

alie wrote:i was wondering about the VMWare ports performance under linux emulation on FreeBSD. Is it slow ?


If you mean the old VMware 3.2.1 version in ports, it actually is rather snappy. Sadly, it is terribly dated. The worst thing is that you can only use it on single CPU or single core systems. If you have more, you have to turn them off.

That is a show stopper.
DrJ
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 20:59

Postby fonz » 03 Sep 2009, 19:09

Just wondering: if I'm not mistaken Virtualbox can run VMWare images. Has anyone tried this with FreeBSD? I have this VMWare image of an Ubuntu system that I need to do some lab work with. I'd hate to have to use Windows for this x(

Alphons
ΔS>0 ⇒ Entropy is here to stay.

"Lawyer" is just "liar" pronounced in a regional accent.
User avatar
fonz
Giant Locked
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 16:32
Location: in dreamland, swooning over a woman I can't have

Postby phoenix » 03 Sep 2009, 21:34

QEmu can also load (and optionally convert) VMWare disk images.
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
User avatar
phoenix
MFC'd
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 05:43
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada

Postby Eponasoft » 04 Sep 2009, 12:06

Right now, I'm attempting to build virtualbox but its list of dependencies is ABSOLUTELY INSANE. This will take all day. :(
OS fanaticism is for the cranially disadvantaged. I use FreeBSD because I like FreeBSD, not because I dislike Linux or Windows... although the latter is still true...
User avatar
Eponasoft
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: 23 Nov 2008, 07:16

Postby bigearsbilly » 18 Oct 2009, 09:49

Interestingly,
I get bridged network on BSD but not on Linux.
bigearsbilly
Member
 
Posts: 143
Joined: 05 May 2009, 22:38
Location: England

Postby actionM » 18 Oct 2009, 10:17

I'm a web developer so I have to use VM's all the time so I can run Internet Explorer. I can only tell you about my experiences on Linux since I'm new here, but I had a really hard time with virtualBox. It been over a year since I used it tho. I used it for 6 months. It was hell.

VMware was a perfect gentleman. No complaints at all. I used it for a year.

KVM is almost perfect and free! I've used it a month. It's my new favorite.

Also, the qemu + vmware player was a nice free combo. You can make the images with qemu, then play them with the free vmware player. Not a bad option if you enjoy free + GUI.
actionM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Oct 2009, 14:46


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dclau and 0 guests