Realtek RTL8191SE (Lenovo Thinkpad T500)

This forum discusses issues related to running FreeBSD on notebooks, laptops, and other mobile equipment.

Realtek RTL8191SE (Lenovo Thinkpad T500)

Postby jrick » 09 Aug 2009, 19:40

I am having lots of trouble trying to get this wifi card to work. I bought my thinkpad on the assumption that the "Thinkpad Wifi" was Atheros, but apparently with the T400/T500 series Lenovo has switched to using Realtek chips.

First, some system info:

Code: Select all
% uname -a
FreeBSD FGD135 8.0-BETA2 FreeBSD 8.0-BETA2 #0: Sat Aug  8 23:51:45 EDT 2009     joshua@FGD135:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC  amd64

% pciconf -lbcv
...
none4@pci0:3:0:0:       class=0x028000 card=0xe02010ec chip=0x817210ec rev=0x10 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Realtek Semiconductor'
    class      = network
    bar   [10] = type I/O Port, range 32, base 0x2000, size 256, enabled
    bar   [14] = type Memory, range 32, base 0xf4300000, size 16384, enabled
    cap 01[40] = powerspec 3  supports D0 D1 D2 D3  current D0
    cap 05[50] = MSI supports 1 message, 64 bit
    cap 10[70] = PCI-Express 1 legacy endpoint max data 128(256) link x1(x1)
...


I have downloaded the drivers from http://www.station-drivers.com/telechargement/realtek/wifi/rtl-8191se_1080.7.0520%28www.station-drivers.com%29.exe (as recommended from this thread) and extracted it using 7zip on Windows.

In the extracted files, I see something like this:

Code: Select all
% tree rtl8191se
rtl8191se
|-- 91_92_SE_Driver
|   |-- VistaX64
|   |   |-- net8192se.cat
|   |   |-- net8192se.inf
|   |   `-- rtl8192se.sys
|   |-- VistaX86
|   |   |-- net8192se.cat
|   |   |-- net8192se.inf
|   |   `-- rtl8192se.sys
|   |-- Win2K
|   |   |-- net8192se.inf
|   |   `-- rtl8192se.sys
|   |-- WinX64
|   |   |-- net8192se.cat
|   |   |-- net8192se.inf
|   |   `-- rtl8192se.sys
|   `-- WinXP
|       |-- net8192se.cat
|       |-- net8192se.inf
|       `-- rtl8192se.sys
|-- DATA
|   |-- 8192SE.ini
|   |-- RtWLan.ico
|   |-- RtlService.ini
|   |-- TrayIcon.bmp
|   |-- Vista
|   |   `-- 8192SE.ini
|   |-- WPS
|   |-- background.jpg
|   |-- background2.jpg
|   `-- text.file
|-- ISLangUni.ini
|-- ISSetup.dll
|-- IsConfig.ini
|-- Release notes
|   |-- ISS_Release.txt
|   |-- Release_92SE.txt
|   `-- Utility_Release.txt
|-- Setup.exe
|-- Setup.ini
|-- _Setup.dll
|-- background.jpg
|-- data1.cab
|-- data1.hdr
|-- data2.cab
|-- layout.bin
|-- setup.ico
|-- setup.inx
`-- setup.iss

9 directories, 44 files


I first tried using ndisgen on the VistaX64 drivers. I was able to create a loadable kernel module, and it did appear in kldstat. However, there was no /dev/ndis0 device. I tried again using the drivers in the WinX64 directory, however whenever I load these modules, I get a kernel panic (I think).

Is there anyone who has experience using this card, and why I am unable to get a ndis0 device when I load the kernel modules?
"Gentlemen! You can't fight in here! This is the war room!"
--President Merkin Muffley, Dr. Strangelove
jrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 03:59
Location: Michigan

Postby morbit » 11 Aug 2009, 00:34

with the T400/T500 series Lenovo has switched to using Realtek chips.


My T400 still got Atheros.

Code: Select all
$ dmesg -a | grep ath
ath0: <Atheros 5424/2424> mem 0xf4200000-0xf420ffff irq 17 at device 0.0 on pci3
ath0: [ITHREAD]
ath0: AR2425 mac 14.2 RF5424 phy 7.0


Sorry for not staying on topic.
morbit
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 12:09
Location: Poland

Postby jrick » 11 Aug 2009, 13:59

morbit wrote:My T400 still got Atheros.

Code: Select all
$ dmesg -a | grep ath
ath0: <Atheros 5424/2424> mem 0xf4200000-0xf420ffff irq 17 at device 0.0 on pci3
ath0: [ITHREAD]
ath0: AR2425 mac 14.2 RF5424 phy 7.0


Huh, odd. I thought both of them used Realtek chipsets now, but maybe it's just the T500. :-/
"Gentlemen! You can't fight in here! This is the war room!"
--President Merkin Muffley, Dr. Strangelove
jrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 03:59
Location: Michigan

Postby alexandre » 26 Jul 2010, 16:31

It may be useless to indicate it by now, since your message has been posted a long time ago. But anyway, it might work with drivers in the section for Unix, rtl819*, rather than those in the section for Windows.
http://www.realtek.com.tw/products/productsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=21&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4
alexandre
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jul 2010, 16:25

Postby paulfrottawa » 14 Jul 2011, 11:17

I would like to compile this on Freebsd 8.2


RTL8191SE-VA2
From:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=21&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4&ProdID=226&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true

But I'm getting errors:

Here's some output.
Code: Select all
comp5# make
"Makefile", line 11: Need an operator
"Makefile", line 14: Missing dependency operator
"Makefile", line 18: Need an operator
"Makefile", line 21: Missing dependency operator
"Makefile", line 22: warning: duplicate script for target "ifeq" ignored
"Makefile", line 23: Need an operator
"Makefile", line 26: Need an operator
"Makefile", line 49: Missing dependency operator
"Makefile", line 50: warning: duplicate script for target "ifeq" ignored
"Makefile", line 50: warning: duplicate script for target "(RTL8192SE,)" ignored
"Makefile", line 50: warning: duplicate script for target "(RTL8192SE_SA)" ignored
"Makefile", line 51: Need an operator
"Makefile", line 52: Missing dependency operator
"Makefile", line 53: warning: duplicate script for target "ifeq" ignored
"Makefile", line 53: warning: duplicate script for target "(RTL8192SE,)" ignored
"Makefile", line 54: Need an operator
make: fatal errors encountered -- cannot continue
comp5# gmake
make: chdir /lib/modules/8.2-RELEASE/build: No such file or directory
gmake: *** [all] Error 1
comp5#

So I create /lib/modules/8.2-RELEASE/build and get this error.

Code: Select all
comp5# gmake
make: don't know how to make modules. Stop
gmake: *** [all] Error 2
comp5#


Here's my pciconf -lbcv

Code: Select all
none2@pci0:3:0:0:   class=0x028000 card=0x815110ec chip=0x817210ec rev=0x10 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Realtek Semiconductor'
    device     = 'Realtek RTL8191SE wireless LAN 802.11N PCI-E NIC (RTL8191SE ?)'
    class      = network
    bar   [10] = type I/O Port, range 32, base 0x2000, size 256, enabled
    bar   [14] = type Memory, range 32, base 0x94600000, size 16384, enabled
    cap 01[40] = powerspec 3  supports D0 D1 D2 D3  current D0
    cap 05[50] = MSI supports 1 message, 64 bit
    cap 10[70] = PCI-Express 1 legacy endpoint max data 128(256) link x1(x1)
ecap 0001[100] = AER 1 0 fatal 0 non-fatal 1 corrected
ecap 0002[140] = VC 1 max VC0
ecap 0003[160] = Serial 1 885522feff4ce000


Thanks in advance anyone.
User avatar
paulfrottawa
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 25 Nov 2008, 19:43

Postby morbit » 14 Jul 2011, 12:11

Are you trying to compile linux driver, or use this chip on FreeBSD?

If latter, write kind request to freebsd-wireless@FreeBSD.org

There is PR already.

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/query-pr.cgi?pr=155642
morbit
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 12:09
Location: Poland

Postby paulfrottawa » 14 Jul 2011, 12:26

OK Ill try the mailing list.

I have tried to do the ndisgen way but there's firmware required. That how Suse people got it working.

So now I'm trying the later because tobisha's driver for windows doesn't have that firmware.
_________________________---
PS: Do I create a new mailing list request or use the follow up from that link?
User avatar
paulfrottawa
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 25 Nov 2008, 19:43

Postby morbit » 14 Jul 2011, 12:38

You have probably already read https://www.dan.me.uk/blog/2010/01/25/ndis-wifi-drivers-in-freebsd-project-evil/ ?

It seems that with i386 (only) some got lucky.
morbit
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 12:09
Location: Poland

Postby richardpl » 19 Jul 2011, 19:15

NDISulator for amd64 works on 8.2
Project: github.com/richardpl/NDISulator
richardpl
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 17:02
Location: Croatia

Postby paulfrottawa » 21 Jul 2011, 22:05

More info of "pciconf -lbcv" from Freebsd 9.0 beta1

Code: Select all
none1@pci0:3:0:0:   class=0x028000 card=0x815110ec chip=0x817210ec rev=0x10 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.'
    device     = 'RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller'
    class      = network
    bar   [10] = type I/O Port, range 32, base 0x2000, size 256, enabled
    bar   [14] = type Memory, range 32, base 0xd4600000, size 16384, enabled
    cap 01[40] = powerspec 3  supports D0 D1 D2 D3  current D0
    cap 05[50] = MSI supports 1 message, 64 bit
    cap 10[70] = PCI-Express 1 legacy endpoint max data 128(256) link x1(x1)
ecap 0001[100] = AER 1 0 fatal 0 non-fatal 1 corrected
ecap 0002[140] = VC 1 max VC0
ecap 0003[160] = Serial 1 885522feff4ce000
User avatar
paulfrottawa
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 25 Nov 2008, 19:43

Postby openwiki » 07 Sep 2011, 14:10

Hello world,

I did some tests with ndisgen with vistax64_amd64 .inf and .sup driver.
Conversion of net8192se.inf failed with iconv.

Now I suppose , this scenario :
net8192se.inf contain chinese , japanese , arabic characters so iconv has difficult to convert all these languages.
適應性傳輸率調變自動化模式 = Adaptive automatic transmission rate modulation mode

I mean that a manual translation in english of all this text will give good result with iconv.

Have you some experience with this problem ?

best regards.
openwiki
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 15:22

Postby openwiki » 08 Sep 2011, 21:25

Hello,

I apologize to you. [FILE]net8192se.inf[/FILE] has bad control characters.
I summarize.
[CMD=" "]iconv -f UTF-16 -t UTF-8 net8192se.inf[/CMD]
It allows a conversion, but [FILE]ndisgen[/FILE] failed.

So I add [FILE]^M^J[/FILE] in hex on amd64 [FILE]0D 00 0A 00[/FILE] at end of file.

[FILE]ndisgen[/FILE] builds [FILE]rtl8192se_sys.ko[/FILE]. But after loading, kernel don't reconize this module.

So [FILE]ndisgen[/FILE] with Vistax64 driver failed today.
openwiki
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 15:22

Postby pkrich » 03 Jan 2012, 15:39

Dear guys! I've bought nettop computer with RTL8192SU USB wifi card integrated for pfSense box. So, how can I put it to work? pfSense is based on FreeBSD 7.2. I hope it's possible, but how? Somebody found an answer?
pkrich
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 15:18
Location: Russia


Return to Mobile Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests