XBMC for FreeBSD

Having problems running your new shiny and blinking gadget or watching DVDs, listening to CDs etc.?

XBMC for FreeBSD

Postby alie » 11 May 2009, 03:35

Hi guys,

Is there any port for XBMC(http://xbmc.org/) that app looks awesome
[color="DarkRed"]www.alielee.com[/color]
FreeBSD FreeBSD 9.1-PRERELEASE #0 r243320 /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/EZYCLIE amd64
User avatar
alie
Member
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 08:13
Location: Somewhere in the world

Postby Carpetsmoker » 11 May 2009, 04:06

UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
User avatar
Carpetsmoker
Member
 
Posts: 905
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 19:07
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Postby tingo » 16 May 2009, 21:54

Well, [port]multimedia/mythtv[/port] is available.
Torfinn
tingo
Member
 
Posts: 948
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 22:02
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby tobiastheviking » 31 Dec 2010, 03:59

Since this is a top hit on google i'm bumping this.

http://www.freshports.org/multimedia/xbmc/ <- xbmc is now in ports.

I haven't installed/tested it. YMMV.
tobiastheviking
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 May 2009, 23:42

Postby narcolepsy » 11 Jan 2011, 10:29

I compiled this OK but cant get it to run on my 7.2 amd64 box. I'm not at it right now but it complains that it tried to run 3x times and failed, no real debug was available.
narcolepsy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 12:13

Postby pogo » 19 Jan 2011, 07:07

I was able to compile and start it (with VDPAU) on my Intel Atom machine (FreeBSD 8.1-RELEASE amd64), but VDPAU does not work.

I installed nvidia-driver (256.53) from ports which should have VDPAU support. Compiled ffmpeg with VDPAU support.

My xorg.conf has:

Code: Select all
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


and I added (because VDPAU doesn't work)

Code: Select all
Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

Section "Module"

    Load        "dbe"

    # Load the glx module.
    Load        "glx"

    Load        "extmod"

    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
EndSection


but XBMC --debug says when I try to play:

Code: Select all
ERROR: (VDPAU) unable to init VDPAU - vdp_st = 0x19. *beep*Falling back.


Anyone with ideas what might be wrong in my settings?

Thanks in advance.
pogo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2011, 07:01

Postby pogo » 19 Jan 2011, 12:12

I recompiled with "NONFREE" and now I get from xbmc.log:


Code: Select all
13:07:29 T:34619889920 M:2419732480   DEBUG: CDVDFactoryCodec: compiled in hardware support: CrystalHD:no OpenMax:no VDPAU:yes VAAPI:no
13:07:29 T:34619889920 M:2419732480  NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Creating VDPAU(1280x528, 28)
13:07:29 T:34619889920 M:2419728384   ERROR: (VDPAU) - Undefined symbol "_nss_cache_cycle_prevention_function" in InitVDPAUProcs
13:07:29 T:34619889920 M:2419728384  NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Failed to get VDPAU device
13:07:29 T:34619889920 M:2419724288  NOTICE:  (VDPAU) Close


VDPAU might be broken?! I reinstalled libvdpau but it had no effect...
pogo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2011, 07:01

Postby fadolf » 27 Jan 2011, 18:26

pogo wrote:VDPAU might be broken?! I reinstalled libvdpau but it had no effect...


I'm also testing this port with all the gimmicks (vdpau, nonfree, ffmpeg) enabled.
So far it seems to be working, playing 1080p BD-rips with almost no CPU load (0.1).
libvdpau is bundled to the nvidia-driver, make sure you compile it before you build the XBMC, and make sure you compile everything with vdpau support, wondering if there's a make flag for it (WITH_VDPAU=yes ? ).
fadolf
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 09 Dec 2009, 08:54
Location: Switzerland

Postby fadolf » 28 Jan 2011, 10:02

A problem I have been encountering is with digital audio output, specifically AC3 and DTS passthru.
XBMC (well actually ALSA) insists that it is an iec958 when it really is a Realtek ALC889.
AC3 and DTS capable receiver is connected via coax.

[CMD=]sysctl hw.snd.default_unit=2[/CMD]
[CMD=]sysctl dev.pcm.2.play.vchanformat=s16le:5.1[/CMD]
[CMD=]sysctl dev.pcm.2.play.vchanmode=adaptive[/CMD]

[CMD=]cat /dev/sndstat[/cmd]
Code: Select all
FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm: 64bit 2009061500/amd64)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #0 Analog> (play/rec)
pcm1: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #1 Analog> (play/rec)
pcm2: <HDA Realtek ALC885 PCM #2 Digital> (play/rec) default


In XBMC audio hardware settings i selected the digital interface for 5.1 output, enabled DTS and AC3. per default iec958 is selected as both the "normal" and passthru interface. Since it didn't work like that I set "normal" to default and manually entered ALC885 for passthru, resulting in this error:

Code: Select all
ERROR: Initialize - failed to open custom device iec958:AES0=0x6,AES1=0x82,AES2=0x0,AES3=0x2
 (error:Invalid argument), retry with default iec958


If i leave it at the default iec958 , the custom part goes away, but still no sound.
Any ideas?

This is on:
[CMD=]uname -rip[/cmd]
Code: Select all
8.2-RC2 amd64 GENERIC


So the previous problems with snd_hda should not be the culprit.
fadolf
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 09 Dec 2009, 08:54
Location: Switzerland

Postby pogo » 29 Jan 2011, 08:13

I found a workaround for workaround for my VDPAU problem. I have to change the Video Renderer every time I restart XBMC to another (best is to change to something before quit and change it to "Automatlicy" after restart) - and it works.

fadolf wrote:A problem I have been encountering is with digital audio output, specifically AC3 and DTS passthru.
XBMC (well actually ALSA) insists that it is an iec958 when it really is a Realtek ALC889.
AC3 and DTS capable receiver is connected via coax.


I have the same problem with ALC662 (optical) and MCP7A (HDMI). Works via oss ([FILE]mplayer -ao oss -ac hwac3 ...[/FILE]).

Code: Select all
pcm0: <HDA Realtek ALC662 PCM #0 Digital> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0
pcm1: <HDA Realtek ALC662 PCM #1 Analog> at cad 0 nid 1 on hdac0
pcm2: <HDA NVidia MCP7A HDMI PCM #0 Digital> at cad 3 nid 1 on hdac0
pogo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2011, 07:01

Postby narcolepsy » 10 Feb 2011, 13:55

I've got this now running on 8.1 RELEASE and with the radeon driver, seems quite happy. I do not know how to enable the remote control however, is this functionality working in the BSD release?

Cheers
narcolepsy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 12:13

Postby thuglife » 10 Feb 2011, 18:43

Yes, remote works. I use XBMC remote from my phone.

You must enable it under system > network > Allow control of XBMC over HTTP.
User avatar
thuglife
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 02 Jul 2009, 16:37
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby narcolepsy » 11 Feb 2011, 00:43

which port is it on thuglife? I don't know how to find out by default
narcolepsy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 12:13

Postby jalla » 11 Feb 2011, 08:31

You find it under Settings->Network->Services. The default port is 8080, but you have to set a username/password as well.
The xbmc remote app for android works very well, I'd expect the iphone/ipad app to be similar.
Seems like a perfect solution if you have an android or iphone with wireless connection.
Practical latin
Amicule, deliciae, num is sum qui mentiar tibi?
But dear, could I ever lie to you?
User avatar
jalla
Member
 
Posts: 369
Joined: 06 Aug 2009, 12:41
Location: Bergen, Norway

Postby narcolepsy » 13 Feb 2011, 22:44

Thanks for the help, the android app looks a lot better than the ios one, but its all working now, was a make config issue, apologies if time was wasted here (I thought the box would be grayed out but was not created at all)

Cheers
narcolepsy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 12:13


Return to Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests