Mouse not moving in KDE4

The K Desktop Environment

Mouse not moving in KDE4

Postby jemate18 » 08 May 2009, 05:53

Ok so i have installed 7.2-RELEASE amd64.

Code: Select all
cat .xinitrc
/usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde4


Code: Select all
startx


Mouse pointer ain't moving.

In my /etc/rc.conf
Code: Select all
moused_enable="YES"

Mouse works on a console only but with KDE4, the mouse is freezing and not moving.

Another thing,

If I'm on the KDE with the mouse freezing, I thought ALT+F2 will run the "run program", but instead it kills X and brings me to console again.

ANy fix?

Thanks
FreeBSD: The Power To Serve
User avatar
jemate18
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 02:13
Location: Philippines

Postby alie » 08 May 2009, 06:58

add:

Option "AllowEmptyInput" "Off"


to ur xorg.conf under ServerFlags section
[color="DarkRed"]www.alielee.com[/color]
FreeBSD FreeBSD 9.1-PRERELEASE #0 r243320 /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/EZYCLIE amd64
User avatar
alie
Member
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 11 Dec 2008, 08:13
Location: Somewhere in the world

Postby SirDice » 08 May 2009, 10:24

Make sure hald and dbus are running too. Then that AllowEmptyInput shouldn't be needed anymore.
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16185
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby jemate18 » 08 May 2009, 23:53

Tried
"AllowEmptyInput" "off"

on /etc/X11/xorg.conf - didn't work

Tried
Code: Select all
moused_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"

on /etc/rc.conf - restarted - boom ! It all works now.

One more thing, in another PC. I got an error when starting gdm. The error was about the /var/lib/dbus - socket.. I can't remember the exact file but it got something to do with socket and dbus. It was a clean install and selecting all packages in the GNOME category.

Here is what I did as I presumed will fix the problem.
Tried
Code: Select all
moused_enable="YES"
hald_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"
gdm_enable="YES"

on /etc/rc.conf - boom ! it worked.
FreeBSD: The Power To Serve
User avatar
jemate18
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 02:13
Location: Philippines


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests