Novice questions (was: FreeBSD GUI)

General questions about the FreeBSD operating system. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.

Novice questions (was: FreeBSD GUI)

Postby Prp » 20 Apr 2009, 14:45

Hi im really new in this topic. And im sure that you can help me ;)
I installed FreeBSD 7.1. i used the howto on this side and did the "All" installation. I created a new user. now i want to start FreeBSD with a GUI but i dont know how? can you help me? i just see a input field and a $ sign. thanks!
Prp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 19:16

Postby SirDice » 20 Apr 2009, 14:46

User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby jb_fvwm2 » 20 Apr 2009, 17:49

you probably want a firewall, then internet, then
startx working, then change twm to some other window manager,
then grab several large .rc for the window manager from the web and
test them,
then system tuning,
though I'd setup the shell first to save history so you can
avoid relearning commands you may have typed weeks ago.
Slower at first. Wiser, later.
.........
That is the way I remember it. Hope is it precise adequately.
jb_fvwm2
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 19:19

Postby LateNiteTV » 20 Apr 2009, 18:12

Code: Select all
ls -al /usr/ports/x11-wm | less

pick one :)
LateNiteTV
Member
 
Posts: 391
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 20:18
Location: palm springs

Postby hydra » 20 Apr 2009, 18:15

That "input field and a $ sign" is the true real FreeBSD :) All you need is to read a little bit, install Xorg and a Window Manager, it will all be fine, if you run into any trouble, let us know...

As SirDice mentioned, start by reading the handbook. For the Window Manager, I recommend Xfce4.
hydra
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 08:50
Location: Slovakia

Postby jb_fvwm2 » 21 Apr 2009, 03:09

... | less, however...
..........
you may want to install /lookat/ and set it as your pager.
Manfiles should be then easier to read AFAIK;
navigation, goto line, search, etc
...............
jb_fvwm2
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 19:19

Postby gordon@ » 21 Apr 2009, 04:53

If you are new to FreeBSD and want to use it in a GUI environment, you may want to look at PCBSD (http://pcbsd.org). It's meant for a desktop environment and is built on top of FreeBSD adding GUI elements.
gordon@
Member
 
Posts: 404
Joined: 20 Feb 2008, 22:44
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Prp » 21 Apr 2009, 12:30

hi, how is the command to switch between the normal user i created and the superuser?
Prp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 19:16

Postby SirDice » 21 Apr 2009, 12:56

Prp wrote:hi, how is the command to switch between the normal user i created and the superuser?


The command is su but the user will need to be a member of the wheel group. You may want to install [port]security/sudo[/port].
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby tangram » 21 Apr 2009, 12:57

Prp wrote:hi, how is the command to switch between the normal user i created and the superuser?


From a user in the wheel group:
[cmd=%]su[/cmd]

To logout from root:
[cmd=#]exit[/cmd]

To change as root to another user account:
[cmd=#]su username[/cmd]

I seriously recommend that you learn Unix basic commands ASAP. Not knowing how to change to root is a bad omen ;)

Look at FreeBSD's documentation at http://www.freebsd.org/docs.html.
User avatar
tangram
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 10:22
Location: Portugal

Postby LateNiteTV » 21 Apr 2009, 17:56

edit /etc/group and add yourself to the wheel group.
LateNiteTV
Member
 
Posts: 391
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 20:18
Location: palm springs

Postby SirDice » 22 Apr 2009, 07:02

LateNiteTV wrote:edit /etc/group and add yourself to the wheel group.


Use [man=8]pw[/man]:
Code: Select all
# pw groupmod wheel -m username

Or
Code: Select all
# pw usermod username -G wheel
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby Prp » 22 Apr 2009, 09:58

thanks for information. i use the german tutorial. i did it step for step and i didnt read anything about a command to switch between users.
Prp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 19:16

Postby SirDice » 22 Apr 2009, 10:12

Prp wrote:thanks for information. i use the german tutorial. i did it step for step and i didnt read anything about a command to switch between users.


He's right, there's nothing in chapter 13 about this :\

13.3 does say:
Later in this chapter, we discuss how to create additional accounts, and how to change between the normal user and superuser.


But no mention of su or sudo anywhere in chapter 13.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby Prp » 29 Apr 2009, 12:58

hey guys, there is one last question ;) can someone tell me about important network activities of freebsd. what are really great facts?
i need it for my school project ;) thanks.
Prp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 19:16

Postby graudeejs » 29 Apr 2009, 13:33

FreeBSD IP/TCP stack is being used in many operating systems including M$ Windows.. because it's one of the best implementations available
User avatar
graudeejs
Style(9) Addict
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 23:23
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby SirDice » 29 Apr 2009, 13:48

Relatively 'new' networking, SCTP. Freebsd contains the reference implementation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stream_Control_Transmission_Protocol
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby Prp » 05 May 2009, 10:06

here we go again. if i havent got a internet connection to use cvsup how can i update my system? one solution: I can download the latest version of it and refresh the whole system. But how can i update individual progs?
does someone have an idea? how can i realize a full system refresh without deleting my configuration (offline)? i think cvsup just balance the old sources with the new (online). how can i handle it offline?

prp
Prp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 19:16

Postby tangram » 05 May 2009, 10:21

But how can i update individual progs?


You update the third party applications just you would do normally.

I update my ports tree and use [port]ports-mgmt/portmaster[/port] to run:
Code: Select all
# portmaster -L | grep -i new
# portmaster -a


And you should have created a new thread: you posing several questions that have noting to do with GUIs.
User avatar
tangram
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 10:22
Location: Portugal

Postby hitest » 05 May 2009, 12:00

To get a working desktop you'll need xorg and some type of desktop environment. For example, install these with pkg_add if you would like to run KDE. You will need to also configure x windows ( chapter 5 of the freebsd handbook).

pkg_add -r xorg

pkg_add -r kde
hitest
User avatar
hitest
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 17:13
Location: B.C., Canada

Postby roddierod » 05 May 2009, 12:18

Prp wrote:here we go again. if i havent got a internet connection to use cvsup ... But how can i update individual progs? does someone have an idea?
prp


If you can get access to the internet somewhere you can do the following, which I have done in the past. It's time consuming but it will get the job done.

1) Goto the FreeBSD Ports Page

2)Type in the name of the port you want to upgrade in the search box.

3) When the search finishes scroll to the exact port. Click on the SOURCE link. It will download the source.

NOW THE REAL TIME CONSUMING PART.

4)Under the port it will list all the required ports, click on each one and repeat step 3.

5) Once you have all that done, you burn everything to CD or DVD or what ever.

6) Take the disc to the machine without the internet and copy everything to /usr/ports/distfiles. Hopefully you got everything. Also, some port such as KDE and GNOME require a subdirectory under distfiles, you'll be able to tell from the error messages you may get when trying to build the port.

7) Now build the port using your perferred method - make install, portupgrade what ever. Hopefully you'll have all the dependencies and the correct version number too! If not it back to step 1.

Hope that helps...
User avatar
roddierod
Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 12:36
Location: On my Slingerlands!


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sKa and 1 guest