Intel HD 3000 issues in Xorg

X.Org on FreeBSD installation & configuration.

Intel HD 3000 issues in Xorg

Postby Saos » 22 Aug 2012, 04:12

I've got a small notebook with Intel HD 3000 graphics on FreeBSD 9.0. I can run X just fine, unless I want to run at a resolution higher than 800x600 (I believe that's what it is...it's huge. That's what matters.)

In xorg.conf, I have:
Code: Select all
Driver       "vesa"


But I want to use "intel". If I switch, X won't start. I've got xf86-video-intel driver installed, I even did make deinstall/reinstall to make sure it wasn't messed up.

I've seen a lot of other threads about this, but no definite answers. Anyone got a fix?
Saos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jun 2012, 18:40

Postby Saos » 22 Aug 2012, 04:23

I'm also considering trying a proprietary driver straight from Intel. They only have Windows and Linux downloads, so I'd probably have to use the Linux one, but would I need to set up emulation?
Saos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jun 2012, 18:40

Postby xibo » 22 Aug 2012, 05:08

1. Checkout FreeBSD 9.1 or 9-STABLE (or HEAD): See Handbook: Synchronizing Source.
2. Checkout a current snapshot of ports: See Handbook: Using the Ports Collection
3. Write
Code: Select all
WITH_KMS="YES"
WITH_NEW_XORG="YES"

into /etc/make.conf
4. Compile and install the new version of FreeBSD that was checked out earlier:
# make -C /usr/src KERNCONF=GENERIC buildworld kernel installworld && reboot (Or go the 'safe' way and reboot after the kernel part into safe mode to do installworld and reboot again). Before rebooting, make sure to not have any third party modules being loaded automatically into the kernel, i.e. /boot/loader.conf contains only x_load lines for modules x that are part of FreeBSD (but not ports) and /etc/rc.conf loads no services that would do so either.
5. After having rebooted to the new FreeBSD installation (check the output of uname -a to verify), rebuild all ports. Using portmaster from ports-mgmt/portmaster this can be done with # portmaster -a -f. Again, see the Handbook section on ports collection.
6. Enable all kernel modules from ports in /boot/loader.conf that were disabled earlier again.
7. Install x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel.
8. Recreate a new Xorg config file using # X -configure. Check that there is a Section for the intel card in ~/xorg.conf.new, and remove anything related to eventual vesa entries
9. Place ~/xorg.conf.new to /usr/local/etc/X11/xorg.conf
10. Drop to your non-root user and start X.

Notes:
  • Some people reported that loading drm at boot time causes the system to misbehave. That module is loaded by X on-demand, and does therefore not require being loaded (manually) at all.
  • Turning off X results in a black screen. While there is no screen, the system returns to syscons and commands typed into the keyboard, i.e. it's possible to restart X11.
xibo
Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 03 Dec 2010, 07:49
Location: Germany

Postby Saos » 25 Aug 2012, 17:22

Does anyone know if things are fixed in 9.1? I'm thinking of trying the above workaround plus a few others later today.
Saos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jun 2012, 18:40

Postby SeanM » 07 Sep 2012, 15:00

Saos wrote:Does anyone know if things are fixed in 9.1? I'm thinking of trying the above workaround plus a few others later today.


I installed FreeBSD 9.0 x86_64 and my Xorg works fine I have an Intel HD 3000 and a Nvidia GT252M. The only problem is the screen resolution. x(
SeanM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:55
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

Postby andersbo87 » 21 Sep 2012, 09:47

I also have pretty much the same problem. According to System Information on Mac OS X (I'm using a MacBook Pro 17 inch from 2011), I've got Intel HD 3000 and AMD Radeon HD 6770M graphics cards. My trouble is that even if I add
Code: Select all
WITH_KMS="YES"
WITH_NEW_XORG="YES"

to [FILE]/etc/make.conf[/FILE] and (re)compile xorg (I'm running FreeBSD 9.1) and then install xf86-video-intel, when I run "Xorg -configure", Xorg only identifies my Radeon card (as Card0) and my Intel card (which I guess would be Card1) gets identified as [FILE]vesa[/FILE]. Kldloading [FILE]i915[/FILE] and [FILE]i915kms[/FILE] or putting [FILE]i915_load="YES"[/FILE] and [FILE]i915kms_load="YES"[/FILE] to [FILE]/boot/loader.conf[/FILE] doesn't help either. From Device Manager in Windows, only my Radeon card shows up under Display adapters. Any help would be appreciated.
andersbo87
Junior Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 19:11
Location: Sarpsborg, Norway

Postby ramonovski » 28 Dec 2012, 18:04

After trying xibo's solution, I got this in the 7th step:

Code: Select all
===>  Configuring for xf86-video-intel-2.17.0_1
xf86-video-intel-2.17.0_1: Rebuild graphics/libdrm with the WITH_KMS option.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /usr/ports/x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel.


I've updated the whole ports, and then that particular port but I can't figure it out.

Can anyone help?

This is my last try until I remove FreeBSD on this laptop.

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
ramonovski
Junior Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20 Aug 2011, 21:07

Postby wblock@ » 28 Dec 2012, 18:41

Code: Select all
# cd /usr/ports/graphics/libdrm
# make config
(turn on the KMS option)
# make deinstall clean install
User avatar
wblock@
Old Fart
 
Posts: 10227
Joined: 07 Sep 2009, 23:23
Location: Milky Way galaxy

Postby ramonovski » 28 Dec 2012, 19:09

Thanks, wblock.

Code: Select all
  CC     modetest.o
modetest.c:58:19: error: cairo.h: No such file or directory
modetest.c: In function 'make_pwetty':
modetest.c:394: error: 'cairo_surface_t' undeclared (first use in this function)
modetest.c:394: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
modetest.c:394: error: for each function it appears in.)
modetest.c:394: error: 'surface' undeclared (first use in this function)
modetest.c:395: error: 'cairo_t' undeclared (first use in this function)
modetest.c:395: error: 'cr' undeclared (first use in this function)
modetest.c:399: error: 'CAIRO_FORMAT_ARGB32' undeclared (first use in this function)
modetest.c:405: error: 'CAIRO_LINE_CAP_SQUARE' undeclared (first use in this function)
*** Error code 1
1 error
*** Error code 1
1 error
*** Error code 1
1 error
*** Error code 2
1 error
*** Error code 1

Stop in /usr/ports/graphics/libdrm.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /usr/ports/graphics/libdrm.



I give up with this laptop.
User avatar
ramonovski
Junior Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20 Aug 2011, 21:07

Postby kpa » 28 Dec 2012, 19:27

Do you have an up to date ports tree? The error about [FILE]cairo.h[/FILE] looks really strange because it's only included if [port]graphics/cairo[/port] is installed and detected by the [FILE]configure[/FILE] script.
kpa
MFC'd
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: 05 Jul 2010, 13:19
Location: People's Technocratic Republic of Finland

Postby xibo » 28 Dec 2012, 19:28

Install [port]graphics/cairo[/port]. Also, this should be reported to x11@
xibo
Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: 03 Dec 2010, 07:49
Location: Germany

Postby kpa » 28 Dec 2012, 19:40

xibo wrote:Install [port]graphics/cairo[/port]. Also, this should be reported to x11@


I can build [port]graphics/libdrm[/port] fine if [port]graphics/cairo[/port] is not installed so that's not the problem.
kpa
MFC'd
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: 05 Jul 2010, 13:19
Location: People's Technocratic Republic of Finland

Postby Saos » 29 Dec 2012, 05:00

I fixed this a while back by just switching to OpenBSD. Couldn't find a workaround that did the trick. Thanks for all your help guys.
Saos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jun 2012, 18:40


Return to X.Org

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests