Two Screens And Xrandr

This forum discusses issues related to running FreeBSD on notebooks, laptops, and other mobile equipment.

Two Screens And Xrandr

Postby heavenboy » 10 Jun 2011, 15:51

Hello,

I have a Sony laptop and I would like to commute my screen to another one (an external monitor). I have studied a lot of posts on this subject but not one works on my laptop.

Let me show you my [FILE]/etc/X11/xorg.conf[/FILE]:

Code: Select all
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen         "Screen0"
#   Screen      0   "Screen0"
   Screen          "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

#Section "ServerFlags"
#   Option          "Xinerama" "1"
#EndSection

Section "Files"
   ModulePath   "/usr/local/lib/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "dri2"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "record"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/sysmouse"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
#   HorizSync    30-107
#   VertRefresh  48-120
   Option       "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "MonitorVGA"
   VendorName   "HYUNDAI"
   ModelName    "HYUNDAI Model"
   Option       "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultRefresh"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"    # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "vesa"
   VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
   BoardName   "Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller"
#   Screen       0
   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
   Option       "Monitor-VGA" "MonitorVGA"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     15
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes     "1024x768"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "MonitorVGA"
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth     24
      Modes     "1024x768"
   EndSubSection
EndSection


And now the output of the [FILE]xrandr[/FILE] command:

[CMD="#"]xrandr -q[/CMD]

Code: Select all
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 800 x 600, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768        0.0*
   800x600        61.0 


I would appreciate if someone has any suggestions for me.

Thank you.
heavenboy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 10 Jun 2011, 08:34
Location: France

Postby adamk » 10 Jun 2011, 21:33

A) Neither xrandr nor separate screens will work properly with the vesa driver.
B) xrandr won't work to drive separate screens even if you weren't using the vesa driver.

Adam
adamk
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: 21 Nov 2008, 11:00

Postby heavenboy » 11 Jun 2011, 07:05

That's why I can't manage to do that. Thank you.
heavenboy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 10 Jun 2011, 08:34
Location: France


Return to Mobile Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron