Truecrypt/Alternative on FreeBSD

General questions about the FreeBSD operating system. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.

Truecrypt/Alternative on FreeBSD

Postby cra1g321 » 26 Apr 2011, 23:12

Hey everyone, I'm new to FreeBSD, I've used windows and am currently on linux so I'm interested to see what the BSD flavors are like :)

Anyway I have a second-hand HDD which has all my important files/folders. This drive contains a Truecrypt partition, which I just mount/unmount using Truecrypt whenever I need to backup a file/folder.

Was wanting to know if Truecrypt runs on FreeBSD using the linux emulation, or is there an alternative program similar to Truecrypt which offers similar features?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
cra1g321

Postby graudeejs » 27 Apr 2011, 05:19

There is alternative, but it's FreeBSD specific
http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/disks-encrypting.html
http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/swap-encrypting.html
[man=8]geli[/man]

Also search forum in howto section, there are few howtos about encryption
graudeejs
Style(9) Addict

Postby olav » 27 Apr 2011, 14:34

Geli is pretty good, very reliable and fast!
olav

Postby cra1g321 » 27 Apr 2011, 14:49

Did a bit of searching on the how-to forum before I made this thread but most were about encrypting the home directory/partition rather than just a separate partition on a separate HDD. I'll look at the documentation and see what ways I could set it up. Was thinking I could maybe have the whole second HDD for my [FILE]/home[/FILE] partition and having it encrypted.

I know I'm probably not allowed to ask a different question in this thread but one thing also required is a way to connect to my VPN. It's an OpenVPN VPN which on linux I use the NetworkManager to connect to, but doing a bit of searching on google it seems this tool isn't available for FreeBSD.