wireless issue broadcom bwi driver on dell inspiron 2200

This forum discusses issues related to running FreeBSD on notebooks, laptops, and other mobile equipment.

wireless issue broadcom bwi driver on dell inspiron 2200

Postby djsameman » 01 Mar 2011, 08:53

Hi all!

I'm new to FreeBSD, having a success install on my DELL inspiron 2200. I've migrated from UBUNTU and was interested to test how it works in FreeBSD.

Some issues I haven't figured out is the wireless thing.

Here is output from pciconf

Code: Select all
# pciconf

...

bwi0@pci0:2:3:0:   class=0x028000 card=0x00051028 chip=0x431814e4 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Broadcom Corporation'
    device     = 'Broadcom 802.11b/g (BCM4318)'
    class      = network
...


I've followed instructions from several places (with help from google ;-)) to install the correct drivers.

The issue is now:

[CMD=" "]# ifconfig wlan0 up scan[/CMD]

... going forever and gives nothing ...

[CMD=" "]# ifconfig wlan0[/CMD]

Code: Select all
wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
   ether 00:14:a5:3c:1e:a3
   media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
   status: no carrier
   ssid "" channel 9 (2452 MHz 11g)
   country US authmode WPA1+WPA2/802.11i privacy OFF txpower 0 bmiss 7
   scanvalid 60 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250 roam:rssi 7
   roam:rate 5 protmode CTS


dmesg output is: (only messages about the interface)

Code: Select all
bwi0: <Broadcom BCM4318 802.11b/g Wireless Lan> mem 0xdfdfe000-0xdfdfffff irq 19 at device 3.0 on pci2
bwi0: [ITHREAD]
bwi0: BBP: id 0x4318, rev 0x2, pkg 2
bwi0: MAC: rev 9
bwi0: PHY: type 2, rev 7, ver 3
bwi0: RF: manu 0x17f, type 0x2050, rev 8
bwi0: invalid antenna gain in sprom
bwi0: WARNING: using obsoleted if_watchdog interface
...
wlan0: Ethernet address: 00:14:a5:3c:1e:a3
...
bwi0: firmware rev 0x0127, patch level 0x000e

Below is my settings in [FILE]/etc/rc.conf[/FILE]:

Code: Select all
# -- sysinstall generated deltas -- # Sun Feb 27 22:10:50 2011
# Created: Sun Feb 27 22:10:50 2011
# Enable network daemons for user convenience.
# Please make all changes to this file, not to /etc/defaults/rc.conf.
# This file now contains just the overrides from /etc/defaults/rc.conf.
font8x14="iso15-8x14"
font8x16="iso15-8x16"
font8x8="iso15-8x8"
hostname="djsameman"
ifconfig_fxp0="DHCP"
keymap="swedish.iso"
nfs_client_enable="YES"
hald_enable="yes"
dbus_enable="yes"
gdm_enable="yes"
gnome_enable="yes"
gdm_lang="sv_SE.UTF-8"
wlans_bwi0="wlan0"
ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"
# -----------------------


And the settings in [FILE]/boot/loader.conf[/FILE]

Code: Select all
# -----------------------
if_bwi_load="YES"
# -----------------------


And the settings in [FILE]/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE]:

Code: Select all
# -----------------------
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
# -----------------------


I have also done a ports install from [FILE]/usr/ports/net/bwi-firmware-kmod/[/FILE]

Still no luck with the wireless. I know there are several working accesspoints.

So help to a FreeBSD newbie would be appreciated.
djsameman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2011, 08:11
Location: Örebro Sweden

Postby wblock@ » 01 Mar 2011, 15:42

djsameman wrote:[CMD=" "]# ifconfig wlan0 up scan[/CMD]

... going forever and gives nothing ...


That makes it scan, but not show the results.
[cmd="#"]ifconfig wlan0 up list scan[/cmd]

And the settings in [FILE]/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE]:

Code: Select all
# -----------------------
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
# -----------------------


Those aren't required. A network settings section with an ssid and psk is needed to associate, but scanning should work without it.
User avatar
wblock@
Old Fart
 
Posts: 10212
Joined: 07 Sep 2009, 23:23
Location: Milky Way galaxy

Postby djsameman » 02 Mar 2011, 10:00

HI and THANKS! I've done a computer restart and suddenly it worked. Possible explanation can be that the [FILE]wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE] file didn't exist first.

Code: Select all
# ifconfig wlan0 up scan

gives the desired result.

Cheers from Sweden.

Janneman
djsameman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2011, 08:11
Location: Örebro Sweden

Postby wblock@ » 02 Mar 2011, 16:13

djsameman wrote:HI and THANKS! I've done a computer restart and suddenly it worked. Possible explanation can be that the [FILE]wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE] file didn't exist first.


[file]wpa_supplicant.conf[/file] is only used by [man=8]wpa_supplicant[/man], it's not needed for scanning. More likely the reset started from scratch and you had the configuration correct. Might also be something to do with a Fn combination or physical switch to enable the radio. The radio LEDs don't work with all drivers or cards.
User avatar
wblock@
Old Fart
 
Posts: 10212
Joined: 07 Sep 2009, 23:23
Location: Milky Way galaxy


Return to Mobile Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests