urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000

Stuff that plugs in via USB, FireWire, eSATA, PS/2, etc.

urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 00:53

Trying about a year now, but my box is impossible to detect my wifi.

[cmd=]dmesg | grep "urtw"[/cmd]

Code: Select all
urtw0: <vendor 0x0bda product 0x8187, class 0/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 2> on usbus3
urtw0: unknown RTL8187L type: 0x8000000
urtw0: rtl8187l rf rtl8225u hwrev none


My [FILE]/boot/loader.conf[/FILE]

Code: Select all
if_urtw_load="YES"
wlan_wep_load="YES"
wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
wlan_tkip_load="YES"


My [FILE]/etc/rc.conf[/FILE]

Code: Select all
wlans_urtw0="wlan0"
ifconfig_wlan0="WPA DHCP"


My [cmd=]ifconfig -a[/cmd]

Code: Select all
urtw0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
   ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
   media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g
   status: associated
wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
   ether 00:15:af:1a:ab:c6
   media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
   status: no carrier
   ssid "" channel 6 (2437 MHz 11g)
   country US authmode WPA1+WPA2/802.11i privacy ON deftxkey UNDEF
   txpower 0 bmiss 7 scanvalid 450 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250
   roam:rssi 7 roam:rate 5 protmode CTS roaming MANUAL bintval 0


What I missed? Should work!
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby wblock@ » 17 Jan 2011, 02:46

The unknown type error might not be a problem, just a warning.

WEP, CCMP, and TKIP should all be in the GENERIC kernel, don't need to be loaded unless you've got a custom kernel without them.

You don't show [file]/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf[/file]. Otherwise, looks like it's working. Does
[cmd="%"]ifconfig wlan0 list scan[/cmd]
show any access points?
User avatar
wblock@
Old Fart
 
Posts: 10227
Joined: 07 Sep 2009, 23:23
Location: Milky Way galaxy

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 12:24

I use custom kernel but I have them as option on it

[FILE]MYKERNEL[/FILE]
Code: Select all
# Wireless NIC cards
device      wlan      # 802.11 support
options    IEEE80211_DEBUG   # enable debug msgs
options    IEEE80211_AMPDU_AGE # age frames in AMPDU reorder q's
options    IEEE80211_SUPPORT_MESH   # enable 802.11s draft support
device      wlan_wep   # 802.11 WEP support
device      wlan_ccmp   # 802.11 CCMP support
device      wlan_tkip   # 802.11 TKIP support
device      wlan_amrr   # AMRR transmit rate control algorithm


My [FILE]/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE]
Code: Select all
network={
  ssid="Ember's Network"
  scan_ssid=1
  proto=WPA
  pairwise=CCMP TKIP
  key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
  psk="freebsd8"
}

just copied it from here and changed the key.

[FILE]ifconfig wlan0 list scan[/FILE]
Code: Select all
SSID/MESH ID    BSSID              CHAN RATE   S:N     INT CAPS
awmn-7817       00:02:6f:38:0a:95    2    1M  47:38   100 E   
OTE             00:15:56:b5:df:ef    6   54M  77:68   100 EPSB

The same networks see my iphone too. That's means that woorking? Why say no carrier?
PS: I want to make it as access point for my iphone.
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby SirDice » 17 Jan 2011, 12:42

Wpa_supplicant is for wireless clients. If you want to set up an access point using FreeBSD you need to use [man=8]hostapd[/man].
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 13:00

A! ok! I will read it right now. I was not knowing this. I am completely noob on networks!
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 13:24

My [FILE]/etc/hostapd.conf[/FILE]
Code: Select all
interface=urtw0
driver=urtw
logger_syslog=3
logger_syslog_level=3
logger_stdout=3
logger_stdout_level=3
debug=3
dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=Ember's Network
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=3
eapol_key_index_workaround=0
own_ip_addr=192.168.0.1
wpa=1
wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK WPA-EAP
wpa_pairwise=TKIP CCMP


But tells me that cannot understand the second line with the driver.
Also remove [FILE]wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE] or I need it?
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby SirDice » 17 Jan 2011, 14:05

I don't think you need that line. And yes, you can remove [file]wpa_supplicant.conf[/file].

Handbook: 31.3.5 FreeBSD Host Access Points
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 14:16

OK. I removed [FILE]wpa_supplicant.conf[/FILE] file.
According this I changed [FILE]/etc/hostapd.conf[/FILE] file to

Code: Select all
interface=wlan0
debug=1
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
ssid=Ember's Network
wpa=1
wpa_passphrase=freebsd8wifi
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=CCMP TKIP


But:

[FILE]/etc/rc.d/hostapd forcestart[/FILE]
Code: Select all
Starting hostapd.
Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
1 errors found in configuration file '/etc/hostapd.conf'
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby SirDice » 17 Jan 2011, 14:28

It's probably tripping on the quote (') in the SSID's name.
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 14:31

No. I deleted the quote but returned me the same error :(
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby SirDice » 17 Jan 2011, 15:07

I can't see anything wrong with it. It looks exactly the same as in the handbook. If you copy and pasted it there might be some trailing (non-printable ASCII) characters attached?
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
User avatar
SirDice
Old Fart
 
Posts: 16196
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 16:50
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 15:21

Yeap. I made copy / paste. I will write it again and I will post the result.
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby DutchDaemon » 17 Jan 2011, 18:42

You can always test a script by running it like [CMD=" "]sh -x /etc/rc.d/whatever[/CMD] and [CMD=" "]sh -xv /etc/rc.d/whatever[/CMD] remember ..
User avatar
DutchDaemon
Old Fart
 
Posts: 10467
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 20:17
Location: The Netherlands

Postby sk8harddiefast » 17 Jan 2011, 20:11

I can't see anything wrong with it. It looks exactly the same as in the handbook. If you copy and pasted it there might be some trailing (non-printable ASCII) characters attached

You had right!
Now:
Code: Select all
Starting hostapd.
Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
bsd_init: interface wlan0  does not existbsd driver initialization failed.
rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory


I guess I must add driver line.
I tried [FILE]driver=bsd[/FILE] or [FILE]driver=urtw[/FILE] but didn't work!

You can always test a script by running it like sh -x /etc/rc.d/whatever and sh -xv /etc/rc.d/whatever remember ..

I am thinking to create a simple script to restart network. [FILE]etc/rc.d/whatever restart[/FILE] everytime can be done easier :)
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby tingo » 18 Jan 2011, 01:12

For me, [CMD="#"]/etc/rc.d/netif restart[/CMD] works for restarting the network on a FreeBSD machine. YMMV.
Torfinn
tingo
Member
 
Posts: 948
Joined: 16 Nov 2008, 22:02
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby bschmidt » 18 Jan 2011, 07:29

sk8harddiefast wrote:You had right!
Now:
Code: Select all
Starting hostapd.
Configuration file: /etc/hostapd.conf
bsd_init: interface wlan0  does not existbsd driver initialization failed.
rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory



That means you didn't create the virtual interface (wlan0) before starting the hostapd. Try this:
[CMD="#"]ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap[/CMD]
[CMD="#"]hostapd -B /etc/hostapd.conf[/CMD]
bschmidt
Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 24 Oct 2009, 13:21
Location: Schwandorf, Germany

Postby sk8harddiefast » 18 Jan 2011, 11:49

[cmd=]ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap[/cmd]
Return to me:
Code: Select all
ifconfig: create: bad value
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby bschmidt » 18 Jan 2011, 12:35

sk8harddiefast wrote:[FILE]ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 wlanmode ap[/FILE]
Return to me:
Code: Select all
ifconfig: create: bad value


Well, I've just read the urtw code a bit, seems like urtw(4) does NOT support hostapd mode currently. So you're out of luck with that device anyways.. if you really want to give some untested hack a try, have a look at kern/153454.
bschmidt
Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 24 Oct 2009, 13:21
Location: Schwandorf, Germany

Postby sk8harddiefast » 18 Jan 2011, 12:49

That's a good reason that I never made it. Ok. I will wait an update of the driver that will support hostapd. For now is solved.
====================================
| -------> [color="Blue"]UNIX[/color]. Live Free Or Die! <-------- |
====================================
[color="RoyalBlue"]You can say:[/color] I can't do something because is difficult.
[color="RoyalBlue"]You must say:[/color] I tried a lot before say that I can't.
Never Give up.
[color="Green"]http://unixsystems.dyndns.org/[/color]
[color="Sienna"]I am not an BSD expert. But I really want to help.
Don't afraid to ask me anything. If I can I will help!
[/color]
Nice wallpapers to make your desktop more hardcore :) ---> [color="DarkOliveGreen"]http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13416[/color]
User avatar
sk8harddiefast
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 00:47
Location: Athens, Greece


Return to Peripheral Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests