[FreeNAS] Gigabit ethernet card is seen as 100Mbit

Internal storage, motherboards, PCI cards, stuff inside the case.

[FreeNAS] Gigabit ethernet card is seen as 100Mbit

Postby worjak » 24 Mar 2010, 12:13

Hi,

I'm new to freebsd.

I've recently installede a FreeNAS (FreeBSD 7.2-based) on my home network. After installing it I changed the network card from a 3com 100Mbit to D-link Gb. The network card I've put in after consulting the hardware list (http://www.freebsd.org/releases/7.2R/hardware.html#ETHERNET) is a "D-Link DGE-528(T) Gigabit Ethernet (8169S)" and it's using the re driver. There were no problems recognicing it in first boot :e.

I discovered the problem after speed testing my network with iperf and got thruputs less than 100Mbit. After this I checked FreeNAS' (web)interface to the network-setup to se that the card was registrered as "100baseTX <full-duplex>". :\

Can I get it to run full speed? Can it be the cable? I know I will not get Gigabit transfrer rates, but more than 100Mbit must be a modest wish?

Regards Jakob
worjak

Postby DutchDaemon » 24 Mar 2010, 12:21

DutchDaemon
Old Fart

Postby SirDice » 24 Mar 2010, 12:23

worjak wrote:I discovered the problem after speed testing my network with iperf and got thruputs less than 100Mbit. After this I checked FreeNAS' (web)interface to the network-setup to se that the card was registrered as "100baseTX <full-duplex>". :\

Can I get it to run full speed? Can it be the cable? I know I will not get Gigabit transfrer rates, but more than 100Mbit must be a modest wish?

You will only get the improved speed if you also have a gigabit switch.
Senior UNIX Engineer at Unix Support Nederland
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
SirDice
Old Fart

Postby worjak » 24 Mar 2010, 13:17

I have a gigabit switch, but thanks for letting me clarify.
worjak

Postby SirDice » 24 Mar 2010, 13:47