Block traffic based on GeoIP

I would like to add a rule to my pfi.conf that blocks any incoming traffic based on the geografic location of the IP-address.

for example I would only allow IP addresses from France to access my apache server. All other trafic should be blocked.

As it looks to me one can do pretty advanced thing in pf but I am a complete newbee to FreeBSD. It looks to me that one somehow needs to use GeoIP and use geoiplookup to determine the origin of the IP address.

Is this somehow possible?

I doubt this is possible to do with any firewall package available in FreeBSD. One thing that comes to my mind is to do a geoip based dns routing, i.e. you route DNS queries from France to the real web server, and others, say, to 127.0.0.1...

I can provide you with a patch for bind to do that.

Alternatively, you could set up a named list of blocked networks, and then use pfctl to populate it from a cron job?
(Assuming there's some way to pick out the networks representing the relevant countries.)

True, but there are large botnets or something operating from a few specific countries - blocking them will remove quite a lot of the log noise.

Hehehe! This looks great!

It's a little bit of a hassle handeling the files but it will work. I wasn't aware of ipdeny.com but it will basically result in the same, most likely even with better performance.

And indeed it's not a very reliable protection mechanism, but I'd like to get rid of all this spam and intrision attempts from these few countries I really never visit, mail nor offer any services to.

Well, using the ipdeny blocks seems to be a good idea. But won't that slow down things a bit? If you're blocking like 25 countries from a server like I'm doing with IPTables&GeoIP on RHEL, that would be crazy because of how many IP-blocks you need to add.

I'm not sure what is the best method to block 25+ countries w/o slowing down things like crazy.