Intel Dual Band Wireless-N 7260

Hello,

I got my new Lenovo T440s and was very sad to see that not even the freebsd FreeBSD setup works with the Intel® Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 card. Is there any way I could make freebsd FreeBSD work with that WiFi card?

Thanks a lot!

Is there really no way to do that? I so don't want to switch to Linux just because I can't use that stupid wireless card. :(

Re: Intel® Dual Band Wireless-N 7260

I have the same problem. From what I can find there is open source drivers. But they have not been ported to FreeBSD, since it is not listed in the man page for the Intel wireless drivers.

According to a mailing list the portingseems to go forward. But I guess we just have to wait for it to stabilize first. Also, as far as I understand it, the new driver will land in iwl(4), not iwn.

For your information: I'm not a developer or anything like it. This is just what I could gather from Google.

It is now end of September, anno 2014. And still this popular NIC does not get any attention by FreeBSD developers! Lenovo's notebooks are mostly equipped with this NIC by now and it is a shame that this wireless NIC hasn't been made working by now. Most Linux distributions I tried on my personal Lenovo E540 with this N-7260 WiFi adapter support it and work well.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

We're working on it. Unlike the Linux Intel WiFi support, there's no-one paid from any company to maintain any WiFi driver in FreeBSD, so it's totally a free time community effort. I finally have a couple of people willing to help me do the 7260 port based on both what appeared in OpenBSD and what's in Linux.

Since we need 11n (and eventually 11ac) we can't just take the OpenBSD driver into FreeBSD.

This is all a community effort and relies on people doing active development. There's plenty of hardware available (and it's both cheap and plentiful!) - but we need more active 802.11 driver and stack developers.

Thanks!

-adrian
(WiFi maintainer)