How to monitor hardware raid

I just installed FreeBSd 7.2 on a Dell T100 poweredge server with 2 500GB SATA drives. The server has the sas6ir RAID controller card. The OS appears to recognize the controller card as the OS only sees one 500GB disk. My question is this...how can i be sure that the RAID is functioning properly and/or how can I monitor the RAID device? I'm new to FreeBSD so forgive me if this is a simple question.

OK, so after poking around dmesg confirms that RAID 1 is enabled and both disks are healthy..So I guess I just need to know how to detect a disk failure...I guess I could grep for mpt in /var/log/messages each day and send myself the output.....Any ideas?
Code:
dmesg|grep mpt
mpt0: <LSILogic SAS/SATA Adapter> port 0xec00-0xecff mem 0xdfdec000-0xdfdeffff,0xdfdf0000-0xdfdfffff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci1
mpt0: [ITHREAD]
mpt0: MPI Version=1.5.18.0
mpt0: Capabilities: ( RAID-0 RAID-1E RAID-1 )
mpt0: 1 Active Volume (2 Max)
mpt0: 2 Hidden Drive Members (14 Max)
mpt0:vol0(mpt0:0:0): Settings ( Member-WCE Hot-Plug-Spares High-Priority-ReSync )
mpt0:vol0(mpt0:0:0): Using Spare Pool: 0
mpt0:vol0(mpt0:0:0): 2 Members:
      (mpt0:1:8:0): Primary Online
      (mpt0:1:1:0): Secondary Online
mpt0:vol0(mpt0:0:0): RAID-1 - Optimal
mpt0:vol0(mpt0:0:0): Status ( Enabled )
(mpt0:vol0:1): Physical (mpt0:0:1:0), Pass-thru (mpt0:1:0:0)
(mpt0:vol0:1): Online
(mpt0:vol0:0): Physical (mpt0:0:8:0), Pass-thru (mpt0:1:1:0)
(mpt0:vol0:0): Online
da0 at mpt0 bus 0 target 0 lun 0

There are a couple of LSI Logic RAID management tools available in the ports tree. See ls -dl /usr/ports/sysutils/*mega* for the list. Which one works with your RAID controller is anyone's guess (we stopped using LSI products many many many years ago as they are crap, crap, and more crap piled on top).

phoenix said: