install BSD on the ZFS l2arc ssd

Hello everybody,

First of all, since this is my first post, let me introduce myself. My name is Marco and I am a physics student. For my studies I use mainly Linux (Ubuntu and Scientific Linux), OS X and a little bit of AIX for parallel computing. I have played around a little bit in the past with OpenSolaris and FreeNAS, but my knowledge of FreeBSD is very limited. Fortunately both the documentation and this community provide a lot of material to learn!

I am about to build a small, low-power computer to serve as NAS, Git server and backup machine in my home network, and, given my previous very positive experience with ZFS, I would really like to use it for my data disks.

At the moment I have an AMD E350 motherboard with 8 GB of RAM, Gb ethernet, 2 x 2 TB drives that I plan to use in ZFS mirror + 1 x 2 TB drive to back up the mirror. For the OS I was planning to buy either a 32 or 64 GB SSD.

Given the very limited amount of SATA ports on my setup I was planning to use this SSD, not only for the OS, but also for the ZFS L2ARC and, possibly, ZIL. Now my question is: how should I configure this? I know that the general rule is to have dedicated disks both for L2ARC and ZIL, but is partitioning really not an option? What about mapping ZIL and L2ARC as files on the OS filesystem?

Alternatively I could use a memory card to boot the system and the SSD only for L2ARC + ZIL. How would you configure this installation?

Ultimately, the ZFS installations I did so far were not using L2ARC nor ZIL. If I serve 3-4 computers on a Gb network with NFS, Samba and AFP, how much of a difference do they make?

Thank you very much for reading all the way through, have a nice day,

Marco

Just a few pointers.

• For ZFS you want to use ECC memory.
  • ZIL will increase your speeds as long as the writes are synchronous (Databases, NFS). ZIL space <= RAM. Usually 1/2