Differences between Linux and BSD.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am a newbie to linux, but I want to try our a BSD flavor.
But before that, I would like to know some key differences between the two, and aside from that, how does programming a *nix (BSD) go? Are there certain things some BSD flavors can do that others can't? And why isn't BSD more well known than linux?

~CastilleV

Biggest difference in my view is that linux is a kernel, nothing more, nothing less. It's the distros that use that kernel and a collection of other tools that turns it into an OS. BSD is a full OS.

I would divide it into 3 main segments:

1. Kernel
The kernel is the main difference, BSD has it's kernel and to be exact Linux is a kernel(not a OS). So the core is the major difference

2. Base system
BSD has it's own base system with the most important binaries as cp, ls etc, while a Linux based OS is using external binaries for the same functions(usually it's the GNU versions)

3. Full OS
Absolutly no difference here(with a few exceptions). A browser that works on a Linux based OS works on a *BSD OS. You can run GNOME, KDE, Firefox, Eclipse, NetBeans, Pidgin etc under both with no difference to the user. If you as a user are unaware of the base system, a *BSD based desktop system can and will function exactly like a Linux based desktop.

In short:
A "linux" os is: Linux kernel + GNU utilities
A "bsd" os is: bsd kernel + bsd utilites

Everything else is the same.(with some exceptions for proprietary software like skype and flash).

Alright! ;)
I've also done some studying and have a few questions to ask, but I will ask them via IRC. :p
Other than that, I think i'll switch. :)

Looks like you guys don't backport things like GIMP. :)
THATS pretty tempting as well!
And why does BSD need a linux compatibility layer? :S

BSD doesn't need it. I don't use it.