ZFS scrubbing

When the handbook talks about scrubbing it mentions additional disk space required for the checksums, isn't scrubbing just checking the stripes and recalculating the parity to see if the parity is accurate? If not why is the checksum needed, isn't it a little redundant when we have parity? Can someone explain in a little more detail how it works?

Does each block's inode reference a checksum or is the scrub a completely independent mechanism?

Thank you.

Also wanted to ask is scrubbing automatic? And how do we check if a scrub is being performed?

I'll provide information on what I can, I'm no expert on how raidz actually works.

All data written to the zpool is split into records of a certain size (usually 128kB or less). This record is then checksummed and written to disk. The checksum is checked every time that record is read. If you compress data, the compression is done first, then checksummed. If dedupe is enabled, the checksum will be looked up in the DDT (DeDupe Table) to see if that record already exists.

I'm not sure how exactly records are written with raidz but obviously data is not always stripped with parity - many people use mirrored pools or even single disk pools. In a single disk pool data can still be recovered from checksum error if you tell ZFS to store more than one copy of each record.

From what I can find on the net I think that data read from raidz is validated with the checksum. The parity is only read if data needs to be reconstructed although it's not very clear.

Scrub is not automatic. You can start a scrub, and then check progress with the commands below. If a scrub is in progress the status command will tell you and give the progress, speed and estimated time to completion. I believe there are also periodic scripts that can be enabled to do this automatically at a set interval.

Code:
# zpool scrub pool
# zpool status pool
# zpool scrub -s pool (stop the scrub)

A note on those periodic scrubs: