zfs fs

I'm still learning about ZFS myself, but data integrity and easy manipulation of data sets, and ACLs seem to be the key factors.

A quick ddg for "Why is ZFS on FreeBSD awesome?" brought up lots of articles. https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/ntowf/whats_so_awesome_about_zfs/ seems to be a nice place to start as your question is asked, with lots of answers from sysadmins.

I'd be interested to hear some FreeBSD specific points of view as well. I believe there is an all things ZFS BSDNow episode as well.

*Edit just realized that link is 5 years old, so ZFS is even better than described in that thread.

There really isn't one specific feature. ZFS was the first---and is the most mature and most thoroughly tested---filesystem of this new generation of filesystems. It solves a whole bunch of problems that computer filesystems have had up until its introduction. For example, all computer filesystems have a limit to how much data they can store, and how large any one file can be. The amount of storage space a single disk can hold has increased very rapidy over time, making those filesystems' limits too restrictive. But ZFS was designed so that the limit on how much data it can hold (and how large a single file can be) is so great that its storage limits will only be reached long after we and our children are long dead. ZFS also addresses filesystem corruption by using copy-on-write and write transactions, so that sudden power loss doesn't damage the filesystem; addresses data corruption by giving checksums to each file so that corruption can be immediately detected and even repaired; and addresses storage limits by incorporating flexible logical volume management.

... the most signifcant feature of zfs that brings all the hype about it
Let me say in a short slogan what miker and ANOKNUSA already pointed at:

The 'killer feature' of ZFS is the fact that it is an anti-data-rot-filesystem.