YADNT (Yet Another DIY NAS Thread)

I am looking to build myself a new DIY NAS to be used with ZFS under FreeBSD, I already do have an Atom-based NAS (the Tranquil BBS2) which I have been using for just over 6 months, but recently I ran headfirst into a major issue that is basically forcing me to rebuild the entire thing. I originally started using it with just 1 disk, attached to the motherboard SATA port, recently I finally went beyond using just 1 disk and realized that the the PCI bus is slow and that the PCI Sil3124 card providing 4 out of 5 sata ports in the BBS2 is worse. The motherboard doesn't have any PCI-E expansion slots, so basically I am stuck (since the motherboard only has 2 native SATA ports total).

I am seeing several potential paths I could be taking:

1) Supermicro X7SPA-H board (Intel Atom D510)
Supermicro boards are traditionally well-supported by FreeBSD in general and this particular board is actually the first Atom motherboard I can think of that has 6 native SATA ports, removing the need for any additional disk controller cards. Talking to people directly responcible for the ATA implementation in FreeBSD, I am seeing them consider Intel AHCI-capable disk controllers to basically be the best out there and this board comes with ICH9, which should be pretty good. A free PCI-E 4x (in a 16x physical slot) for possible expansion. Purely passive cooling is good, I like low noise. The downside is that this board is pretty expensive.

2) Intel D510MO board (Intel Atom D510)