XFCE build fails, help needed!

Hi everyone,

I'm still new to FreeBSD, however I'm enjoying it quite a lot.
I installed it on a virtual machine (VMware Fusion) and decided to take a go at a Window Manager. So I opted for XFCE as it's said to be a lightweight distribution.

I installed X and XDM, using the instructions on the handbook (using ports), and then followed through with the instructions for XFCE. However, the build fails. After checking the output I notice the following error:

Code:
py27-1.6.1,1 atlas needs to be built with WITH_STATIC for numpy to function properly.

I'm not sure what to do now, I tried a make clean followed by a second make install clean to see if I chose something wrong in the several configuration popup screens that showed up previously in the build, but they did not come up again. I also don't remember building atlas, so it was either built specifically for XFCE or as a dependency for one of the few other ports I built (I only built nano, bash, some fonts and portupgrade beyond X, XDM and XFCE).

So my question is, should I enable the WITH_STATIC flag for atlas? And if I should, how can I do it?

Any help would be extremely appreciated and if you need some feedback such as configuration files or anything else to help me, I'll be more than happy to supply them.

# cd /usr/ports/math/atlas
# make config

Turn on STATIC. Then clean to get rid of the failed build directory, then build and install.

No idea where that dependency comes from, it's not on my machine.

Hello, thanks for the reply.

I gave it a try (building atlas), however it gives me another error. Also, some interesting things happened.