X.org unable to detect display

Hello,

I am new to this OS and Unix/Linux in general so I'm still learning about how everything works. My issue is that I've installed Gnome using the documentation on FreeBSD.org - however my display is shown as "Unknown" and only lists 800x600 and 1024x768 as available resolutions.

I'm running this OS on my Laptop (Lenovo B560 - Intel HM55 Graphics Chipset). I've been doing a lot of research and it seems I'm not getting anywhere. I've tried reconfiguring /etc/X11/xorg.conf per a number of other forum posts from here and ubuntu forums, but it seems any changes I make cause problems and the display isn't detected by x-server/x-org (what's the difference between these two things?).

It seems that support for my GPU is rather limited when it comes to x-org, but does that mean I can manually define the resolution higher than 1024x768? I've uploaded the xorg.conf and xorg.log files to pastebin. Also, one thing I'd like to mention was that I connected my laptop to an external monitor and now I can configure the resolution to be 1280x1024, but that is still below the resolution of the laptop and the external monitor (1080p)

xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/mCsVZCNW
xorg.conf: http://pastebin.com/ShwerDf9

The vesa driver (xorg.conf line 55) does not support the higher resolutions. The intel driver will. You must have FreeBSD 9.1 or later, and enable KMS as shown here.

Thank you!

What's the recommended method of rebuilding ports? It looks like I can use portmaster -Rf to rebuild a port with all dependencies. Is there better way of just rebuilding the port or will that suffice?

Thanks for the help!

Also, I tried enabling the Intel driver previous to making this thread but gnome wouldn't even load. I'd fancy a guess its because I didn't have kms.

From memory, all I did was rebuild each of those ports manually from the ports directory. Don't force rebuilds of dependencies unless required.