Solved Wordpress can't connect to mysql database

Apparently this is a very common problem but nothing I've tried works. I have never used Wordpress before and it's been a long time since I've used mysql.

I can access mysql (mysql80), set up a database, users, etc. from mysql. I can access Wordpress from a separate computer on the lan or with lynx on the computer that has Wordpress and mysql to get to wp-admin. But when I let wp-admin page try to set things up for me, it complains
Error establishing a database connection

my.cnf

Code:
[client]
port                            = 3306
socket                          = /tmp/mysql.sock

[mysql]
prompt                          = \u@\h [\d]>\_
no_auto_rehash

[mysqld]
user                            = mysql
port                            = 3306
socket                          = /tmp/mysql.sock
bind-address                    = 127.0.0.1
basedir                         = /usr/local
datadir                         = /var/db/mysql
tmpdir                          = /var/db/mysql_tmpdir
slave-load-tmpdir               = /var/db/mysql_tmpdir
secure-file-priv                = /var/db/mysql_secure

wp-config.sample.php
Code:
// define( 'DB_NAME', 'database_name_here' );
define( 'DB_NAME', 'gwyn' );

/** MySQL database username */
//define( 'DB_USER', 'username_here' );
define( 'DB_USER', 'mysql' );

/** MySQL database password */
//define( 'DB_PASSWORD', 'password_here' );
define( 'DB_PASSWORD', 'password' );

/** MySQL hostname */
define( 'DB_HOST', 'freebsd' );

I use "freebsd" as the host name because that's what /bin/hostname shows and what seems mysql uses. I've tried localhost but that was no different.

I read somewhere that I should comment out the ip address altogether but that didn't help things. I am confused as to why, when I log into mysql, that my prompt is doc@freebsd([none]) instead of mysql>.