Wireless problem

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner in FreeBSD systems and I'm having trouble getting my wireless to work. I am using FreeBSD 9.0 on a Toshiba l505 Satellite laptop which I think has a Realtek RTL819 wireless lan controller. I've looked at the handbook and added
Code:
if_urtw_load="YES"
in /boot/loader.conf and
Code:
wlans_urtw0="wlan0"
in rc.conf. But when I try and do ifconfig wlan0 up scan it says the device does not exist.

Again I'm very new so tell me if you need any more details to be able to help! Is this card supported in freebsd FreeBSD 9 with that urtw driver? Also, my home network uses
MAC filtering if that makes any difference, but the router already has my MAC address on its ok list.

I don't know if I should add that when I boot up I have to choose option 4 to disable the ACPI before I boot because ACPI never works enabled and gives me an error - not sure if that has anything to do with the wireless or not.

Thanks in advance.

JonathanBSD said:
Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner in FreeBSD systems and I'm having trouble getting my wireless to work. I am using FreeBSD 9.0 on a Toshiba l505 Satellite laptop which I think has a Realtek RTL819 wireless lan controller. I've looked at the handbook and added
Code:
if_urtw_load="YES"
in /boot/loader.conf and
Code:
wlans_urtw0="wlan0"
in rc.conf. But when I try and do ifconfig wlan0 up scan it says the device does not exist.

# kldstat
lists loaded modules. See if the one you have is there.

Try manually creating wlan0 rather first, see what messages you get, if any.
# ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 up

... my home network uses
MAC filtering if that makes any difference, but the router already has my MAC address on its ok list.

Why, what does this do?

Tthanks for the quick reply.

kldstat lists:
Code:
kernel
if_wi.ko
radeon.ko
drm.ko

and when I type

ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev urtw0 up

I get the error message

Code:
SIOCIFCREATE2: Device not configured