Wireless GUI: "Killer App" for FreeBSD?

I'm fairly new to FreeBSD and absolutely new to this particular forum so apologies if this is something that comes up all the time.

The short story: I think FreeBSD needs some way of making mobile networking easier.

The long story: I've worked in computing in Universities for about 30 years. I started with BSD running on a PDP/11, then SunOS, then Solaris. I'm probably unusual in never having owned and used either a Windows PC or a Mac. For many years I had various Sun machines at home. When I got my first laptop I ran Linux on it for a while and then switched to Solaris and eventually OpenSolaris. My first laptop was used to enable me to work on long train journeys: it had no mobile network connectivity and I would move stuff to and from it via wired networks at home and at work. Then mobile broadband came along: I was not an early user because it was expensive but I did eventually sign up and, with a bit of struggle, got OpenSolaris to work with it.

Since then, of course, Solaris has pretty much died for users like me, and OpenSolaris/Indiana really isn't an option, so a few years ago I decided that I was going to have to give up Solaris and find something else. My first alternative was Debian, but I found the whole experience frustrating in many ways, and about 2 years ago I switched to FreeBSD. There is a lot to like about FreeBSD for a traditional Unix user and I am surprised in many ways that it is not more popular than it is, though I suppose it passed under my radar for a long while too.

The reason for this rather long introduction is to make the point that, though I'm not a developer and have never been a professional sysadmin, I am a much more than averagely-competent user. I've set up and run a small Solaris cluster and was getting Linux and Solaris running on laptop machines at a time when that was really unusual.