Windows Server 2012 and FreeBSD features?

Hi guys,

So far I have only used Windows based systems for desktop and webservers and complete newbie in Linux or Unix.

In the context of using Windows Server 2012 as a webserver what advantages does FreeBSD offer short-term and long-term? It seems MS is aggressively developing their server OS and adding new features with every release. One wonders if all these underfunded open source projects will be eventually outclassed by massive investments MS is making.

I would like to know opinion of somebody who has used both Win Server 2012 and FreeBSD 9.1 as a webserver and what they have to say?

Hi WinBSD

I have no experience with Windows, having used only UNIX, BSDs and Linux. However, I wonder what features you think Windows offers, that make it worth developing for knowing it is backed by an abusive monopolist with a history of reliance on aggressive vendor lock-in as well as introducing and removing technologies with no concern for the development base?

I use PostgreSQL, Nginx and clang on FreeBSD, and I cannot honestly think of anything Windows could offer, that would make a switch worth considering.

While it's true Microsoft is aggressively developing their server OS, this doesn't mean their decisions are infallible. The metro interface has pretty much proven that Microsoft is quite capable of making completely idiotic decisions. Even after the overwhelmingly negative feedback before release, they pushed it through anyway due to their latest company initiative.

Speaking of initiatives, Microsoft may drop technology if they decide they don't like it. VB6? Gone, simply replaced with something else. Where is silverlight going? It doesn't seem to be going anywhere. I've got an exchange 2007 install which is the last version that supports "public folders". It's simple and was VERY popular, so why did they drop it? Now they expect you to jump into the sharepoint nightmare.