bhyve Windows 10 as a guest through bhyve

D

Deleted member 67862

Hello,

I am new to bhyve but I decided to go ahead and try it out. I need a Windows 10 vm for schoolwork and want to make use of bhyve. I've been following this guide completely, though instead of /vm I put the directory in /usr/vm and my vm is named win10.

Everything has worked up until the point of installing Windows 10 ( vm create -t windows -s 40G win10). It seems that as soon as the vm is spun up, its locked or stops. When trying to view localhost:5900 with vncviewer, I get a "vncviewer: VNC server closed connection" error. This is what vm list looks like promptly after installing or starting the vm:

Code:
hunter@mybsdpc:/usr/vm % sudo vm list
NAME   DATASTORE  LOADER  CPU  MEMORY  VNC           AUTOSTART  STATE
win10  default    uefi    2    2G      0.0.0.0:5900  No         Locked (mybsdpc)

Originally I had ran this twice and it was first locked and then in the "Stopped" state. But after running the install command this last time has left it in "Locked" state with no way to view the virtual machine (Update: it stopped again). Any input/help is appreciated.

I'd suggest running it manually, to me it's much easier and straight forward.
I wrote a script which launches a Windows 10 VM in a loop, i.e. restarts if I restart Window and quits if I shutdown Windows:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
CD=/mnt/zoo/vm/virtio-win-0.1.196.iso
HD=/mnt/zoo/vm/win10.img
HD1=/mnt/zoo/vm/win-d.img
USB="5/0/0"
UEFI=/usr/local/share/uefi-firmware/BHYVE_UEFI.fd
MEM=4G
VM="win10"
IF="tap0"
MAC="mac=00:A0:98:78:32:10"
DPY="w=1600,h=900"

sudo ifconfig $IF up
while true
do
    sudo bhyve \
      -c 4,sockets=2,cores=2 -S \
      -s 0,hostbridge \
      -s 3,ahci-hd,$HD,sectorsize=512 \
      -s 4,ahci-hd,$HD1,sectorsize=512 \
      -s 5,fbuf,tcp=0.0.0.0:5903,$DPY \
      -s 6,xhci,tablet \
      -s 10,virtio-net,$IF,$MAC \
      -s 11,passthru,$USB \
      -s 31,lpc \
      -l bootrom,$UEFI \
      -m $MEM -H -w \
      $VM

RES=$?