Will there be a new init for FreeBSD anytime soon?

I'm a 7+ year Linux user and I've been experimenting with FreeBSD for 1+ years, sometimes trying it out on my laptop and sometimes PC-BSD magically appearing on my sisters laptop which she asks to fix all the time. I find FreeBSD very stable the the new package management pkgng very useful, ports was super slow sometimes and would churn out the most annoying errors sometimes.

I couple of months to a year I remember some FreeBSD guy talking about how systemd was a great idea and that FreeBSD should have something like it, perhaps porting Upstart, Launchd, or that other Solaris init which everybody totally forgot about. Where did all that talk go and has there been anything so far?

It's not impossible, it would just be a big deal. For example, switching to pkg was a pretty big deal, but it happened.

It's not impossible, it would just be a big deal. For example, switching to pkg was a pretty big deal, but it happened.

I remember at last years BSDCan Jordan Hubbard spoke about his opinions on rc.d, and it seems like all the improvements he suggested has to do with mobile devices or ones that are run on a battery; so I'm assuming better power consumption management through implicit dependency tracking? Does the project plan on gravitating towards such devices in the future?

I've instrumented the current setup (from POST to login), and iI can't think of anything that would benefit (or at least improve) FreeBSD for it's intended purpose (servers) by using something else, or even altering current rc.d.

I still don't know why iXsystems is using launchd for FreeNAS 10 when our current init system is perfectly fine, IMO. If they have reasoned progression with what they're doing, maybe it could compelling enough for FreeBSD to adopt.

That's what I got out his spiel at least.

As a developer, what do you think?