Will systemd make FreeBSD more popular?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have seen lots of posts from Linux users who say they are moving to FreeBSD, or have already moved.

I have been using Linux myself for over ten years, systemd is the reason I am trying out FreeBSD.

Poettering called FreeBSD an irrelevant toy. It would be awesome if there was a surge in popularity for FreeBSD.

I have seen lots of posts from Linux users who say they are moving to FreeBSD, or have already moved.
Well, they are welcome. I just hope they do not expect to come here asking why FreeBSD is not like Linux, like many Windows users do when they switch to Linux and then asks why the desktop is not as good as in Windows.

Poettering called FreeBSD an irrelevant toy
The feeling is reciprocal. Moreover, considering the fact that every time he create something new, users starts looking around in search of an OS without that new feature, I personally couldn't care less of his opinion.

I would be awesome if there was a surge in popularity for FreeBSD.
I disagree. I've been a Debian user for about 10-12 years before definitely switching to FreeBSD. In the beginning (I'm talking about the Debian 2.0 era) using Linux was a pleasure. Users constantly asked for more popularity, so they can have more drivers and more software. Then came Ubuntu, and also popularity. And chaos. And the OS became an ever-changing entity.

And the OS became an ever-changing entity.
Although I am by far no expert of operating systems, let alone the Unix like ones, I guess that there can be good and bad changes. FreeBSD grows and changes also, gets lots of new features, very very interesting ones, like f.e. bhyve.