why is upgrading so much slower than updating

I am still quite new to FreeBSD, and so I stumble from question to question :)

Today I upgraded some of our servers from 10.2 to 10.3 and this really drove me nuts.

The "ordinary" patch level updates using ...

% freebsd-update fetch update

... so far have been quite simple and fast.

But comparing this to the upgrade from 10.2 to 10.3 using ...

% freebsd-update -r 10.3-RELEASE --upgrade
and then
% freebsd-update install

... has left me clueless. The upgrade downloads and later applies almost 11K of patches, which takes very long:

Code:
Fetching metadata signature for 10.3-RELEASE from update6.freebsd.org... done.
[...]
Fetching files from 10.2-RELEASE for merging... done.
Preparing to download files... done.
Fetching 11061 patches.....10....20....30....
Now my very naive question is: why is this so much slower than an ordinary update? I mean, technically, patching an installation from 10.2 to 10.3 can't be so much different from patching it from say .p9 to .p10.

... or am I missing something here?

And if this is the way it is intended to be, how do you deal with a bigger amount of servers? The upgrade from 10.2 to 10.3 today took me hours for our mere 7 servers and I cannot imagine how this scales once we migrate more servers :)

It's simple math really. Number of changes between major versions is huge compared to changes between minor versions. The changes are calculated as binary diffs between files and even a single byte of change causes a file to be completely different from the other one.

And if this is the way it is intended to be, how do you deal with a bigger amount of servers? The upgrade from 10.2 to 10.3 today took me hours for our mere 7 servers and I cannot imagine how this scales once we migrate more servers :)
You can proxy freebsd-update(8) through a caching proxy. That way only the first one has to download the files from the internet, the other servers will get it from the proxy cache.